• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PROJECT LOG "Thideras Modded" Antec 1200

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Automata

Destroyer of Empires and Use
This is the second Antec case that I've modded. I don't have a clear-cut path for this case, so I won't have a lot of details in this post. The main goal of the project (or any "Thideras Modded" case) is clean routing of cables through making them from scratch. Sure, anyone can hide cables, trim them to length and even use extenders (ugg...); but they don't look as good as fully custom, cut to length and sleeved, cables.

I've been making custom cables for many years now and have used them in previous and current projects. I've done a "Thideras modded" Antec 300 that used the stock fans (plus the two in the front that don't come with the case) wired up to a fan controller in the front. The wires were completely stealthed, unless you ducked your head into the case. I've also made custom cables for my file server's hard drive backplane to save space, increase cooling capacity and make it look better.

I have no problem tearing apart components to solder in my own wires and creating harnesses from scratch, if it makes it look good. That was my project for tonight.

------------