• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

i5-2500k Overclocking issues on Asus P8Z68-V/Gen3

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

zackj3

Registered
i5-2500k
Asus P8Z68-V/Gen3
G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 1.5v 8GB
Seasonic x660 PSU
Cooler Master 212+

First off, this is my first time ever trying to overclock anything, so please be patient with terminology / instructions on how to get my overclock working.

Followed Theocnoob's guide but not having much luck. Figured I would make my own thread to get more responses from people.

I ran prime95 blend for 9 hours. After about an hour, one of the workers (#4) failed due to rounding error. The other three workers were fine.

I ran Small FFT and after about an hour, one of the workers (#4) failed due to rounding error. The other three workers were fine.

Here are some screenshots of my BIOS settings and Prime95/Hardware Monitor.

60T7m.jpg
YPXY9.png
5s0sg.png
lL7Mn.png
n1GcX.png
YRoVg.png

Currently I have CPU C1E disabled and Intel Adaptive Thermal Monitor disabled (they are shown as enabled in the pictures, I have ran prime95 with both options).

Please help, hopefully I can get this sorted out. :(

Thanks guys.

Disable C1E and both C3 and C6 Reports. With 8GB of RAM installed, you'll need to bump VCCIO voltage above the default of 1.05V. What are the exact spec's of your RAM, including timings and voltage at DDR3-1600, and what's the current DRAM frequency? And you can probably get by w/ 1.30V or less Vcore at a 4.5GHz clock... 1.35V is too high.
I ran prime95 blend for 9 hours. After about an hour, one of the workers (#4) failed due to rounding error. The other three workers were fine.
Once a worker fails there's no need to continue running Prime, since your overclock is unstable at that point anyway.