Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

OC on MSI 990FXA-GD80

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-22-12, 12:59 PM Thread Starter   #1
bulldog1963
Member

 
bulldog1963's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2012

 
OC on MSI 990FXA-GD80


Okay, here's the deal, in the BIOS, the FSB and PCI-E bus speeds are fixed at 200 and 100, respectively. I can adjust Vcore, and multiplier for CPU but nothing for GPU at all. It seems this BIOS restriction happened when they introduced Bulldozers into the family and changed to a mouse-driven GUI Bios (v11.12 for me, AMI)

now, i can set fsb using MSI Control Center. This seems to always casue the bsod or just a plain reboot when i use this online tool.

Also, evga has a program to adjust GPU clock, memory clock and voltage. it is EVGA Precision X. This does nothing. The GPU clock runs from 50 Mhz to 700 Mhz depending on the load regardless whether I override it or not. I see no place to fix a GPU OC in place on the program nor is there anything I can find in th BIOS to shut of this clock throttle.

Anybody have experience with is problem and how did you get by it. I know it can be done in AMIBIO8, but the new bios (uefi) that had to be upgraded to used bulldozer's was changed from an all-cpable text based BIOS to what seems to be a more user friendly and "pretty" hobbled BIOS. I keep reading always do your OC via BIOS. I agree.

__________________
CASE: Cooler Master HAF XM (blowin' like a jet engine)
MOBO: MSI 990FXA-GD80
CPU: AMD FX-8120 @ 4.2
GPU: 2x EVGA GTX 480 SLI
RAM: Corsair XMS3 4x4Gb 1600
BOOT: Corsair Force GT 120 SATA 3 SSD
STORAGE: Seagate Barracuda 1TB SATA 2, Toshiba 320 Gb USB 3.0 External
PSU: Antec High Current Gamer 900
CPU COOLER: XSPC Raystorm 750 RS240
GPU COOLER: Zalman GTX 480 VF300F + 1 stock still
DISPLAYS: Planar PL2410w/ASUS VE249H

OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64
bulldog1963 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 08-22-12, 01:07 PM Thread Starter   #2
bulldog1963
Member

 
bulldog1963's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2012

 
Oh yeah, 1 thing to add. I can get my CPU (FX-8120) up from 3.1 base to 4.2. It runs EVERY application and onlime game I throw at is without issue. I can run Passmark and a few other bench's, but 3d mark 11 locks up on me about 90% the way through. As for stress tests, the Passmark runs fine. Every other one shuts down core by core - starting with 8, then 7, then whatever after a few minutes.

Now, to me the capability to run every program that I ever do (and some are quite demanding of CPU and GPU) without fail or "hiccup" is the MOST important thing to me. Getting a stress test to run is, truly secondary. It would be nice to see it through the AMDO or Prime95, or OCCT process, but I cant seem to even get them to run beyon stock speed. Even .1 oc locks this stuff up, except Passmark BurnIn Test.

__________________
CASE: Cooler Master HAF XM (blowin' like a jet engine)
MOBO: MSI 990FXA-GD80
CPU: AMD FX-8120 @ 4.2
GPU: 2x EVGA GTX 480 SLI
RAM: Corsair XMS3 4x4Gb 1600
BOOT: Corsair Force GT 120 SATA 3 SSD
STORAGE: Seagate Barracuda 1TB SATA 2, Toshiba 320 Gb USB 3.0 External
PSU: Antec High Current Gamer 900
CPU COOLER: XSPC Raystorm 750 RS240
GPU COOLER: Zalman GTX 480 VF300F + 1 stock still
DISPLAYS: Planar PL2410w/ASUS VE249H

OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64
bulldog1963 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-22-12, 09:11 PM   #3
RGone
Senior DFI Staff

 
RGone's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: JAX, Mississauna

 
but nothing for GPU at all. It seems this BIOS restriction happened when they introduced Bulldozers into the family and changed to a mouse-driven GUI Bios (v11.12 for me, AMI) =There is absolutely no reason for any GPU adjustments in the bios of a 990FX chipset motherboard, because it does n0t have onboard video. Therefore no GPU adjustments in bios.

__________________
You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
MOBO > Model and Bios version.
CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers
RGone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-22-12, 10:52 PM Thread Starter   #4
bulldog1963
Member

 
bulldog1963's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2012

 
So I guess the PCI-e speed at 100 Mhz is probably I/O port bus, then. I wasn't considering that. Thanks for the nudge.

__________________
CASE: Cooler Master HAF XM (blowin' like a jet engine)
MOBO: MSI 990FXA-GD80
CPU: AMD FX-8120 @ 4.2
GPU: 2x EVGA GTX 480 SLI
RAM: Corsair XMS3 4x4Gb 1600
BOOT: Corsair Force GT 120 SATA 3 SSD
STORAGE: Seagate Barracuda 1TB SATA 2, Toshiba 320 Gb USB 3.0 External
PSU: Antec High Current Gamer 900
CPU COOLER: XSPC Raystorm 750 RS240
GPU COOLER: Zalman GTX 480 VF300F + 1 stock still
DISPLAYS: Planar PL2410w/ASUS VE249H

OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64
bulldog1963 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-23-12, 11:34 PM   #5
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
Yeah, you really can't overlock the PCI-e bus. It just don't like it. Guaranteed to produce instability. Sounds like you are using software or bios overclocking genies. We would really recommend using the manual bios controls to get a truly significant and stable overclock, one that will pass Prime95. Wish you had chosen another board manufacturer. We see more problems on the forum from MSI owners than any other major brand.

__________________
Custom built desktop #1:
FX-6300 4.5 ghz/Noctua D14 CPU cooler/16 gb Team Elite 2400 mhz ram, 4x4gb/Asus M5A99X Evo motherboard/Coolermaster HAF 912 case/OCZ 750W PSU/AMD 6850 GPU/2xCorsair 120gb SDD RAID 0
Toshiba SatelliteL775 laptop/17.3" display, AMD 3400M APU, 8 gb of 1333

Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-23-12, 11:48 PM Thread Starter   #6
bulldog1963
Member

 
bulldog1963's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2012

 
Well, I can and do use manual. I tried the genies and all they did ws give me a bump of about .23. I use the multiplier (successful at getting me to run everyday tasks and some quite stressful) at 4.2, but when I try to stabilize it for stress testing at 4.2, i just can't find a vcore that can help me out. Sometimes i will look at HWinfo64 or CoreTemp and the vcore will have dropped back, on its own, to about 1.28.

I have my ram boosted to 1600, but it naturally runs 1333. should i drop it back to 1333 and is raising vcore the only way to stabilize or can i drop it from the 1.28? Although I have built computers since, like, '92, I never had the urge to OC. Or water cool, but I just tried my first kit and I have my Cores down to 11 C/26 c with offset at 4.2. I am pretty excited about that.

__________________
CASE: Cooler Master HAF XM (blowin' like a jet engine)
MOBO: MSI 990FXA-GD80
CPU: AMD FX-8120 @ 4.2
GPU: 2x EVGA GTX 480 SLI
RAM: Corsair XMS3 4x4Gb 1600
BOOT: Corsair Force GT 120 SATA 3 SSD
STORAGE: Seagate Barracuda 1TB SATA 2, Toshiba 320 Gb USB 3.0 External
PSU: Antec High Current Gamer 900
CPU COOLER: XSPC Raystorm 750 RS240
GPU COOLER: Zalman GTX 480 VF300F + 1 stock still
DISPLAYS: Planar PL2410w/ASUS VE249H

OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64
bulldog1963 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-23-12, 11:49 PM Thread Starter   #7
bulldog1963
Member

 
bulldog1963's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2012

 
I did try a Gigabyte 970a-something, but circumstances forced me to get another board.

__________________
CASE: Cooler Master HAF XM (blowin' like a jet engine)
MOBO: MSI 990FXA-GD80
CPU: AMD FX-8120 @ 4.2
GPU: 2x EVGA GTX 480 SLI
RAM: Corsair XMS3 4x4Gb 1600
BOOT: Corsair Force GT 120 SATA 3 SSD
STORAGE: Seagate Barracuda 1TB SATA 2, Toshiba 320 Gb USB 3.0 External
PSU: Antec High Current Gamer 900
CPU COOLER: XSPC Raystorm 750 RS240
GPU COOLER: Zalman GTX 480 VF300F + 1 stock still
DISPLAYS: Planar PL2410w/ASUS VE249H

OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64
bulldog1963 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-12, 12:27 AM   #8
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
FX CPUs will easily run 1866 mhz ram so if your ram is capable of 1600 mhz I would run it that way. Sounds like you may have temp-related downthrottling going on. The FX CPUs and the 9xx chipset boards have a very complex power-regualtion system that can be triggered by high socket/core temps or excessive power draw. It can be disabled, however. Have you disabled Cool N Quiet, C1E, C6, Turbo Boost (or whatever they may call it) and Advanced Power Management in bios? You should if your are overclocking because those things interfere with overclocking. And go into Windows Control Panel Power Options and configure it to High Performance. That should take care of all the "green" donwnthrottling stuff.

But something is conspicuously absent from the info you have presented so far. You have said nothing about temps under load. High temps are a major cause of instability. You should donwnload and install HWMonitor. Have it open on the desktop while you run some of your tougher apps or games. It will record min, current and max core and CPU socket temps. The socket temp may be obscured by a label like TMPINx of which there are seveal lines. Do this and get back to us with a report about those two temp readings.

__________________
Custom built desktop #1:
FX-6300 4.5 ghz/Noctua D14 CPU cooler/16 gb Team Elite 2400 mhz ram, 4x4gb/Asus M5A99X Evo motherboard/Coolermaster HAF 912 case/OCZ 750W PSU/AMD 6850 GPU/2xCorsair 120gb SDD RAID 0
Toshiba SatelliteL775 laptop/17.3" display, AMD 3400M APU, 8 gb of 1333

Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

Last edited by trents; 08-24-12 at 12:33 AM.
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-12, 03:51 PM Thread Starter   #9
bulldog1963
Member

 
bulldog1963's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2012

 
Okay, this is what I have. I was using as much of the system resources that I typically use. The Graphics often hover at 77-88% and cpu runs from 22-45-ish% There are graphics levels to 98% in some instances for about 15-30 seconds (depending). I have seen the CPU go to about 50% for short times (Using Core temp and HWinfo64, both) and the use of all 8 cores while I do this is pretty much the norm.

Hope this works. I had a helluva time capping this. I have dual screens and it kept capping the main screen even though i had the secondary screen and the HWMonitor window active.


__________________
CASE: Cooler Master HAF XM (blowin' like a jet engine)
MOBO: MSI 990FXA-GD80
CPU: AMD FX-8120 @ 4.2
GPU: 2x EVGA GTX 480 SLI
RAM: Corsair XMS3 4x4Gb 1600
BOOT: Corsair Force GT 120 SATA 3 SSD
STORAGE: Seagate Barracuda 1TB SATA 2, Toshiba 320 Gb USB 3.0 External
PSU: Antec High Current Gamer 900
CPU COOLER: XSPC Raystorm 750 RS240
GPU COOLER: Zalman GTX 480 VF300F + 1 stock still
DISPLAYS: Planar PL2410w/ASUS VE249H

OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64
bulldog1963 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-12, 04:29 PM Thread Starter   #10
bulldog1963
Member

 
bulldog1963's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2012

 
On the temps, they are a bit higher than I display. I look at the onboard temp sensors.

Fintek F71889a for the CPU temp and ADT7473 for the GPU temp. it looks like HWMonitor uses the same one for the CPU and motherboard and NVAPI for the GPU. The NVAPI displays temps about 11 degrees hotter than the onboard chip reports.

__________________
CASE: Cooler Master HAF XM (blowin' like a jet engine)
MOBO: MSI 990FXA-GD80
CPU: AMD FX-8120 @ 4.2
GPU: 2x EVGA GTX 480 SLI
RAM: Corsair XMS3 4x4Gb 1600
BOOT: Corsair Force GT 120 SATA 3 SSD
STORAGE: Seagate Barracuda 1TB SATA 2, Toshiba 320 Gb USB 3.0 External
PSU: Antec High Current Gamer 900
CPU COOLER: XSPC Raystorm 750 RS240
GPU COOLER: Zalman GTX 480 VF300F + 1 stock still
DISPLAYS: Planar PL2410w/ASUS VE249H

OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64
bulldog1963 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-12, 07:14 PM   #11
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
You can add about 15c to the core temps with the FX CPUs to get a more realistic core temp reading as they are typically micalculated on the cool side.

__________________
Custom built desktop #1:
FX-6300 4.5 ghz/Noctua D14 CPU cooler/16 gb Team Elite 2400 mhz ram, 4x4gb/Asus M5A99X Evo motherboard/Coolermaster HAF 912 case/OCZ 750W PSU/AMD 6850 GPU/2xCorsair 120gb SDD RAID 0
Toshiba SatelliteL775 laptop/17.3" display, AMD 3400M APU, 8 gb of 1333

Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-12, 07:16 PM   #12
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
At 1.28 your vcore is too low. No wonder your overclock is not stable.

__________________
Custom built desktop #1:
FX-6300 4.5 ghz/Noctua D14 CPU cooler/16 gb Team Elite 2400 mhz ram, 4x4gb/Asus M5A99X Evo motherboard/Coolermaster HAF 912 case/OCZ 750W PSU/AMD 6850 GPU/2xCorsair 120gb SDD RAID 0
Toshiba SatelliteL775 laptop/17.3" display, AMD 3400M APU, 8 gb of 1333

Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?