• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD 16 or Intel 6 for CFD

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mmd_knr

Hi,

I am currently doing my PhD in CFD (Computational Fluid Dynamics). we use a software (FLUENT) that is licensed per core, and we can run parallel calculations with that. what it does is just calculation ...
Now I am doing a simulation with this software which with our current system will take months to finish. So I planned to buy a workstation, I looked at some of the specifications to find out what to buy, but now I am lost :( I really don't know what to do :shrug:. I hope you can help me a bit.
For CPU. every body said intel is more efficient. so based on my budget I was thinking of getting a Core i7 3930K (6 cores). but then I found out that AMD Opteron 6772 has 16 cores with the same price. is it really possible that a 16-Core CPU loses to a 6-Core CPU in a software that is licensed per core? but it says Opteron is a server CPU, what it means? can I not use it on my workstation? Is the motherboard going to be much more expensive than the motherboard that I should use for a Core i7?
For the i7 setup I was going to buy 4*8GB RAM at 2400 GHz.But it says Opteron memory controller is for 1600 MHz.
Is it better to have 16 cores @ 2.1 GHz with 32GB 1600 MHz RAM or 6 cores @ 3.8 GHz with 32GB 2400 MHz RAM?
I think Cache is also important for our software, Opterons Cache is much higher than i7. So what should I do. I really dont know what to look for.

I am also having a very basic general question.
Why an AMD with 8 cores @ 5 GHz with 1MB/Core L2 Cache and a lower price is worse than an Intel with 6 cores @ 3.8 GHz with 256KB/Core L2 Cache and a higher price? What are other important factors that effect? is it the case even for parallel computing?

I hope some one can help me.