• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD A10-7850K on Asus A88x-Pro overclocking help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

koolzero

I recently upgraded my system and I want to squeeze as much performance out of it as I can.

When I run AI Suite III to overclock I seem to get different results. I had my system running at 4.2 GHZ and it was fairly reliable but then yesterday I got a crash out of the blue. I've seen sites where they've overclocked this CPU to 4.7 but I'd be happy with a solid 4.4 - 4.5 GHZ.

When running AI Suite III what causes it to crash during overclocking, it doesn't appear that CPU is getting too hot.

I'm a novice and I worry if I try to overclock in the bios I'll damage something so I need some advice to try and go about this the right away. I also seem to read conflicting information. I've seen one article talk about matching the NB frequency with the DRAM Frequency and I also read that I should turn off AMD Turbo mode.

I'm not sure where start exactly. Right now I've set my CPU clock speed back to default. The only thing is I have my memory upped so it runs at 2133 MHz.

Games I've been playing: Rise of the Tomb Raider and Just Cause 3.

If you can point me in the right direction I'd greatly appreciate it.

Here is my system info:

Corsair Carbide Series 200R Mid Tower ATX Computer Case
Fans on top, Front, Door and back.
Asus A88X-Pro
AMD A10-7850K
Gigabyte GTX 980
Cooler Master EVO Hyper 212 (Fan blowing out back)
16 GBytes Memory (G.Skill F3-2133C908GBXH X's 2)
Samsung EVO 500

Last edited:
First thing :welcome: to OCF koolzero