• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD 7950X overclock help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Vger70

Registered
https://pcpartpicker.com/list/MZz7tn Doing my first overclock of my AMD 7950X build linked
but I’m having issues getting above 36000 on Cinebench. I’m doing just an EXPOI profile base enabled PBO over clock with all setting AUTO except manual setting the AIO score to 180. Since a 10 min Cinebench run doesn’t see my water temp rising above 32c and it had it at 152.

It’s stable at a score of 36700 on EXPOII but when I attempt to set my cpu-multiplier anything other than auto even 50 GHz or use the curve to under volt all cors even -5 it is unstable.
I’m very new to overclocking.
here is the HwiNFO for my latest Cinebench run on EXPOI If you need info I’m not showing to troubleshoot just let me know. Thanks

Attachments

• FF60CB1D-D49A-414D-ABFE-E52FBEE8D0F2.jpeg
    FF60CB1D-D49A-414D-ABFE-E52FBEE8D0F2.jpeg
    480.5 KB · Views: 7
  • 4B1E40D7-EA4B-44A9-903F-87FD9D58025D.jpeg
    4B1E40D7-EA4B-44A9-903F-87FD9D58025D.jpeg
    477.8 KB · Views: 6
  • 5B1C866D-CEB2-4FB2-A0ED-BC4EF5B298BB.jpeg
    5B1C866D-CEB2-4FB2-A0ED-BC4EF5B298BB.jpeg
    444.4 KB · Views: 6
  • 4F64FF1C-D447-4639-83F3-A9E7798E6039.jpeg
    4F64FF1C-D447-4639-83F3-A9E7798E6039.jpeg
    410.2 KB · Views: 7
As I remember, +200MHz max PBO limit, -30 curve and it should work. If it doesn't then +150MHz. On the other hand, these CPUs are not overclocking well and the performance gain isn't really visible in daily usage.
You can start from -20, -30 or -40 curve. Then you will see if it boosts higher and if temps are holding the boost clock. I see 95°C+ on the screenshot, so core clocks are for sure lower than max under full load.