• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Building RADI-5 NAS Video Server!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

GreenJelly

Not much to say... Not going to be used much!

I need an OS with an Expandable Software RAID-5 configuration. I have access to Windows 2003, and of course Linux (though I am a complete Noob). I asked in a Linux forum about software RAID that will allow me to add disks without backing up/moving the files. By Expandable I mean, plug in drive, tell the OS to incorporate the new drive, OS rebuilds array with existing data and includes the new drive.

I am buying a VERY large case with the ability to hold an incredible (like 20) amount of hard drives. I am starting out with 6 drives, and will expand as needed. (thus as time passes I save money on lower costing Hardware)

Usage: Serving Video/Movie Files to Media Centers. No Live TV recording will be done on this machine so It wont be used constantly. (I may move a favorite TV show to it, though it wont be accessed much since its like all video files... you watch them once or twice a year at most).

Purpose and Objective: CHEAP! On Demand Local Media Storage without the need for Disks (they will be stored in a separate location where they are safe). Music will be stored (duplicated/backedup) on two different machines (currently around 190 Gigs of it), and will not need to be shared much.

At a threat of cross referencing; check out my thread in the Motherboard Section;
http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=516049