• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

buying a Celeron 1300 smart?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Spahinator

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Location
washington
Well ive decided to get a new celeron cpu for my box. Right now im running a [email protected] and I thought I didnt have much to lose getting a 1300 for 66 dollars. Is it a good chip? should I expect to get at least 1500mhz out of it? thats all I really want.
 

breez

Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2002
Location
Finland
If you get a good chip it could overclock pretty well. One guy got it to 133MHz FSB (That's over 1.73GHz :eek: ). I have one too. For OC 1200MHz would be better because it allows higher FSB.
 

Diesel82

Registered
Joined
Oct 18, 2002
well as u can see in my sig, the 1300 is overclockable without greater problems...u said u got a 800 celeron before ? thats a coppermine, u might have already noticed that u need a tualatin adapter to get the 1300. it wont run on ur old slotket.

by the way i also got a 800er celeron before. after oc'ing to 1600 my comps speed increased by 100 %. so its worth the money...
 

KLowD9x

Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Location
Lugoff, SC
Mine does pretty good, just make sure you get some good cooling for it. When you keep it cold, it stays nice-'n-stable!
 
OP
S

Spahinator

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Location
washington
Thanks

Im using a ASUS TUSL2-C mobo well that support it without any adapters? I look around and so far it does but I would like to make sure. :D
 

doer

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2001
Location
EU, Finland
well if 1500Mhz is all you need, you better get 1.1A or 1.2A... I guess 133FSB 1470Mhz (or or 1.2A 125FSB 1500Mhz) would be faster than 115FSB 1500Mhz (1.3A).