• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

correct hsf prep

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

plowd1

Registered
Since I am new to OC I hear alot about lapping and polishing. I went and got some 800 grit, 1000, and 1500 and worked my way up using a flat surface and sliding the sink across it . It seems to still be alittle scratched but smoother than it was Am I doing this right ?

I think you should probably start with lower grit...

Start with say 200 or so, then 400, then 600, then 800, etc...

Bear in mind that the finer the sand paper, the less of the heatsink surface it removes (thus allowing you to get it closer to being completely flat). If there is a big gouge (big being relative, on the bottom of a heatsink a "gouge" can be quite small) you will only be able to practically remove it with a lower grade sand paper (it would take FOREVER with 1500 grit, for example). The idea is to get the larger imperfections out first and then finish sanding it smooth with the finer grits.

I do understand the concept of using a lower grit and I was able to start with 800 and remove and grooves that were in the sink but after I finished with the 1500 there seemed to be scratches or lines that the 1500 was leaving or maybe it just looked scratched because when I sanded the other way it would put them going the other way. When you say mirror finish I assumed it should just be shiny and consistent without visible lines . I see lines but don't really see any grooves and it feels smooth is that the results I am looking for?