• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Designing a new line of water cooling components. Seeking your input, ideas and

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

guitarmaniac24

Registered
Hi everybody! First post here. Thanks for stopping by!

My name is Jason, I'm from Boston MA. I'm a machinist by trade, a maker & an entrepreneur and a (broke) computer enthusiast haha.

I recently thought of creating a new line of high quality water cooling components and am just about finished with the design phase of my first prototype, a simple reservoir.

Before I move forward or post any images, renderings, videos, brand names, release dates etc. I'd like to move onto doing a bit of market research.

My hope with starting this thread is to get an outside, more experienced point of view from you guys/girls on any improvements, capabilities, wants or needs that might be missing from your current water cooling rig.

So tell me, what really grinds your gears?

tl;dr: Designing new line of water cooling components. Tell me what sucks about your current loop!

what sucks about water cooling?
first off why use 1/2 inch tube when the fittings are all 3/8 ID?

My wish list:
A universal block with mounting that will fit any platform made in the last 15 or so years.

what sucks about water cooling?
first off why use 1/2 inch tube when the fittings are all 3/8 ID?

Noted! Properly sized tubing is the way to go. What is your preferred size?
My wish list:
A universal block with mounting that will fit any platform made in the last 15 or so years.
I think this could be done with a modular/adjustable design that I've been considering for the future. Out of curiosity, in your opinion what are the most important features necessary to creating a truly universal block?