• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

dvd backups

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pummer

Member
Joined
May 21, 2003
Location
buffalo ny
i just installed an OS and all the software on a client's computer. I want to use my DVD burner to make an image of that hard drive in case I ever need to restore it. What program would I use to do this? Ghost?
 

sramjones

Disabled
Joined
Nov 1, 2003
Location
Bronx New York
your best bet is to make a partition on your main hard drive of about 5-8 gig depending on size of all info on hdd. then install ghose on main c:\ parttition and then back it up. then put the ghose image on the 5-8gb partition and then u may also back it up.. That is the most efficient way in my opinion been using that way for abot 2 years. also backup your registry and put it on the partition. becouse ghost doesnt do the registry
 
OP
pummer

pummer

Member
Joined
May 21, 2003
Location
buffalo ny
i thought ghost made an exact image of everything on the drive...

if it doesn't, that's what i need a program to do
 

CrazyP

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
ghost does, I dont know what he is talking about not backing up the registry. it backs up everything, at least ghost 2003 does which is what I have. ghost 2003 supports backing up to DVd, CDs, Hardrives, Networks, you name it
 

shadowdr

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2001
Nero 6 does dvd backups in windows as does the corporate version Of ghost.I have used the Nero version,it makes a bootable dvd for an easy reinstall.Worked very well as i keep windows on its own partition so fitting on 1 dvd was no problem.The version of Norton 2003 I got had GoBack instead of Ghost Which would not work on an a raid array.
 

jhl3

Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2002
Location
NC
Ghost usually does well. I've only had one instance where the clone drive wouldn't boot. Re Ghosted and it booted.
 

deRusett

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2002
Location
Midland, Ontario
IF I used Ghost to image my drive, would I need to keep ghost installed on my system after making the image? When I tried ghost it had a stupid systray Icon, I'm not really a fan of using extra resources for a program I only need to use once
 

CrazyP

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
i just type "services.msc" in run and disable the service. I restart it the same way if I need to make a backup.