• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

FX6300 + GA-78LMT-S2 Mild Overclock

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MetalMatty

So, I'm going to start by saying I'm relatively new to the world of OCing. I have done a small OC on my old graphics card (1050Ti SC), but never anything with the CPU. I have done quite a bit of research, but I'm still worried because, well, obviously you can fry everything if you do it wrong.

So let me follow up by saying I know this mobo sucks for OCing. I have seen it already in a few posts here saying that the board itself cannot handle the heat from extra voltage.

I'm not necessarily trying to break any records here. I had a FX4300 in this system, and while it was fine, I have (due to outside circumstances) a constant sort of screen recorder happening on my system. My theory is that having two extra cores might help alleviate the stress of that screen recorder. My issue, and the reason I want to OC even though realistically it won't make a difference, is just to get the base clock speed of the FX6300 to match the FX4300 (3.5Ghz-3.8Ghz). The turbo speed of the FX6300 is obviously .1 Ghz higher than the FX4300, so I really wouldn't even need to mess with that.

So, I guess all I'm really asking is, -should- I be okay to just bump the base speed up to 3.8GHz, and leave boost on 4.1? I am guessing this probably won't actually benefit a lot, but it's kind of OCD in a way.

Overall specs are:
Case: Phantex P400 with 3 intake and one exhaust fan, plus a 66-70 degree F ambient temp.
CPU: FX6300 (obviously)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2
PSU: 750W EVGA
GPU: Currently a 1050 Ti Sc, will be a Zotac 1060 6GB AMP! by hopefully Monday when it shows up.