• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

FYI to Geforce4 overclockers

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Muggy

Disclaimer: Many of you may already have experienced the results I'm about to comment on. If that's the case, my apologies for rehashing old news.

I've been playing around with O/Cing my GF4 for a few months now and just noticed something very interesting. I would usually start my O/C by upping my core frequency from its stock 275Mhz to 300Mhz before doing anything to the memory. It's a ti4400 so I figured it'd do this without any fuss. Well, it goes to that frequency just fine, so long as my memory frequency is no more than around 600Mhz (300 x2 for DDR). I could run it at 640Mhz on the memory but it'd lock up if I ran more than 1 cycle of 3dMark.

I then remembered from experience O/Cing my old Radeon DDR card that memory problems usually showed up as visual artifacts. What I was seeing was just a hard lockup. It sounded more like a core problem than memory. So to test my hypothesis, I lowered the core clock just a bit to 295Mhz and proceded to up the mem frequency bit by bit with some startling results. I've run out of slider for the memory on my O/C utility (cool bits)! It's at 690Mhz and there's abolutely no evidence of any visual artifacts.

I'd recommend some people play with this a bit to see how their results compare. Rule of thumb-if it locks up, it's most likely a core problem, so back off the O/C a bit. Oh, and I have an 80mm side fan on the case blowing fresh air on my vidcard, so your mileage my vary if you're not cooling it this way. I remember seeing a bit of a hack to enable a higher frequency option for the sliders, anyone remember how to do that?