• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

HDTV/monitor advice needed

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MitchV

I'm a programmer who spends a lot of time in front of a monitor.. 8-10 hours a day easily. I've never really treated myself and paid more than $300-$400 for a monitor. I'm currently using a Samsung 997DF and would like to upgrade to something nicer... I like the idea of a wide LCD that can also be used to display HDTV.

My current video card is an ATI 9800 Pro, which I believe can support a widescreen resolution. I've also got an ATI TV Wonder pro that I use to watch television on my monitor... not a lot, but I'll sometimes watch a football game in my home office.

I'm not too big of a game player these days, but on occasion I might crank up Far Cry and the last game I spent a lot of time playing was World Of Warcraft. I need to make sure that whatever monitor I buy will have a good enough response time for DVDs and PC games.

I've got a digital cable receiver in my office and can upgrade it at anytime if I wish to receive an HDTV signal from my cable provider.

What I think I'd like to get is something along the lines of a 21"-23" wide LCD monitor with HDTV inputs so I can watch high definition television too. I'm a little concerned that I might not be familiar enough with the necessary inputs. I'm also concerned about whether I should really dump any money into a monitor with these inputs given that HDMI and HDCP supporting hardware is around the corner... this would allow me to plug my cable box into a video card (similar to my ATI TV Wonder) and display content on my monitor via a DVI input, right?