• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help!! Its Overheating!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Cegepboy

i'm a newb at this, so i might say useless info but bear with me plz
Ok here's my system:

athlonXP 1800+
asus A7V266-E motherboard
asus geforce3
300w power supply
volcano 7 cpu fan
1 case fan

i use that Asus PC Probe and also the bios to tell me my cpu temp.
its at 53 DEGREES CELCIUS!!! its even gone up to 60!!! why is it so hot?? I'm NOt even overclocking yet! if i do, i'm scared its going to burn my house down. PC PROBE says my fan is turning at the maximum of 5000 rpm. My case isn't right next to a wall, bout 30 cm away. not next to a heater.... Why's it so hot??

i wanted to show off my comp, but at this temp, its an embarrassment.

My MB temp is also at 40 degrees, it goes past that too often enough too.

I don't think getting a second case fan will be enough.
What do i do?

i heard that too, but i used tried several different temperature programs and they all gave me high results above 50 degrees

basicaly whatever you are getting u should minus 10C since asus boards over report their temp of corse it could be +/- a few degrees i'v used 2 asus boards and the temps were at least 10 hotter on both btw its not the prog thats inaccurate its the actual thermister that asus uses

What is your CPU vcore voltage set at?
You only have 2 fans in that box?
You might want to add more, and also check out the "cooling" forums.