• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

help understanding offset voltage with ryzen 5 1600

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

serpentracer

Registered
hey guys I have a newbie question and I'm sure it's been beaten to death so bare with me. but I'm having a issue (I think). I did search but came up without much to help me with my issue. first off I'm not new to computers but I am new to OCing one. I've never bothered to try one before and it's a lot of info to digest in a few days. so I gave up and decided to sign up and ask you guys. I've been trying to follow and understand a few guides on youtube from this site and some written articles on this site. but my pc doesn't seem to be responding the way the guides are showing. I think i just cant wrap my head around it all yet.

my motherboard is a asus ROG strix b350-f. and a ryzen 5 1600 I have it running at 3.8 Ghz. I'm running Linux Mint 18.3. so I know that throws a bit of complication in here for some of you. I cannot run the normal software tests you guys do. and I cannot run the overclocking software from Asus. I have to make all of the adjustments in the UEFI settings that I do not understand yet and none of the tutorials delve into. this mobo seems to have settings that the older videos and tutorials do not have at the time they were created.

so for testing, I found a site called CPUX.NET to run online cpu benchmark and stress tests. I'm not too concerned with my score as I am what happens with different settings. something isn't working right I don't think.