• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help with 2gig(1gbx2) RAM decision

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

P1MP1N J

Registered
Hi im new to the computer building scene and have recently built my own computer which spec's are:
AMD 3000+ newcastle
GiGAByte GA-K8NS with nForce3 250 chipset
Ati radeon X850 pro
and currently 512mb of kingston value ram
I am looking for 2gb of ram setup from newegg or other for around 190$ to spend and i would like the fastest available at that price without overclocking or changing a ton of settings because I went on newegg to get ram and got Very confused at the different timings and such and all but the reason iam getting it is that my mobo didnt seem to want the run 2x512mb sticks and so i figured one was defective and got rid of it because i figured i fried it upon installing (my first comp) and so i wasnt sure if that was the problem but i recently updated my BIOS to the F18 thing for the motherboard which probably could have helped the situation out so i am now looking at the Fastest stock 2gb ram setup for 190$ or less and the ram that my motherboard says that i can fit is: 3 184-pin DDR DIMM sockets that support up to 3gb max and support DDR400/333/266 DIMM and supports DDR DIMM but that is all i know and i would appreciate it very much if you could help me make the right choice first instead of being sorry later :)

thanks for your time,
LJ

it is a good choice for OC, this modules use samsung uccc chips like the G.skill HZ and the HZ costs 157$ now, also this modules don't like tight timings, stock at 200mhz you will get 2.5-3-3

my ocz ddr500 2 x 1 are pretty good. hit 277ish . these are the original kind not the new honey comb kind.