• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How to Burn-In properly an XP+ Cpu?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

The Doors

Vesuvius Senior Ocer
I'm not very experienced about, but I've heared that I have to set the lowest FSB possible, 66Mhz I suppose, the highest VCore possible, and load @101% the Cpu :D but considering that the Shuttle AK35 can handle a VCore up tp 2.3v, which is the safe Vcore to use, and for how many days?

Thanks in advance for your support ;)

Adriano.

The theory is to use the lowest speed available with your BIOS and the highest vcore and run it as cool as you can get it. Here's an article written by an electronics engineer explaining the theory behind this.

so you have to burn it for weeks? how long do you guys normally spend for burn-in? a couple of hours? 24hrs? 48hrs?

Well, use Prime95 torture test w/ the 66fsb and stock multiplier, and I'm not sure about voltage. I find it dangerous to go 2.1v with water. I would try 2v or something.

Burn in at that speed for a week, then adjust back to an overclocked speed and keep burning in, for unlimited time (I would recommend another week w/ Prime95 Torturing, then you can switch to a program you may like such as: Seti or Folding, or continue with Torture Testing).

Yodums

sorry Yodums, when you say one week with Prime 95', you mean 24hrs per day non stop? or only a couple of hour per day?

Kato said:
sorry Yodums, when you say one week with Prime 95', you mean 24hrs per day non stop? or only a couple of hour per day?

I mean like the whole 24 hours x 7 days. Its a burn in and it shouldn't be stopped in between.

so is sacrificing chickens to the o/c gods, but it works...you know, in some countries, blasphemy like that will get you flogged with a mouse cord within an inch of your life? serious...:D