• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

i5-2500K OC Questions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Foruman

Hello All!

I am fairly new to overclocking, and just have a few questions. First of all, I achieved a stable overclock of 4.5GHz using the settings listed below, but I was wondering if there's another way to set the voltages either using offset or manual mode. The reason is, I followed several guides to set these settings, and am not sure if they are the best for overclocking. Also, when the system idles, the frequency and voltage never decreases. I know that it's supposed to be 1.6GHz @ 1.0v when idling, but my computer is always 4.5GHz @ 1.336v. Another thing, when playing games and running other CPU-intensive software, the voltage decreases to 1.296v, and sometimes causes a BSOD. The only BSOD error code I get is 0x124, which means too little Vcore. Can someone help me out and let me know what settings I have that are incorrect/not optimized for the overclock I have applied? I have a good aftermarket air cooler, so the temps are 24C when idle and ~50C when under load.

Thanks all!

Hardware:
ASUS P8P67 PRO (Rev. 3.0)
Core i5-2500K
Corsair Vengeance RAM (16GB, 4x4, 9-9-9-24 2T)
GTX 580

UEFI BIOS Settings:
Ai Tweaker
Ai Overclock Tuner: Manual
BLCK/PCIE Frequency: 100.0
Turbo Ratio: By All Cores
By All Cores: 45
Internal PLL Voltage: Enabled
Memory Frequency: DDR3-1600MHz
DRAM Timing Control: use the rated timings
EPU Power Saving MODE: Disabled

Ai Tweaker\ CPU Power Management >
CPU Ratio: Auto
Enhanced Intel SpeedStep Technology: Enabled
Turbo Mode: Enabled
Long Duration Power Limit: Auto
Long Duration Maintained: Auto
Short Duration Power Limit: Auto
Additional Turbo Voltage: Auto
Primary Plane Current Limit: Auto

Ai Tweaker (in the DIGI+ VRM section)
Load-Line Calibration: Auto