• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Looking for a 7850 or 7970

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kellymcq

As it says in the title, I am looking for either of those two cards. I was looking at http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicat...ffiliateID=TnL5HPStwNw-.WrlKzyb9k1orYvG1JUj4A
But it would appear to be a non reference PCB. This is a problem because I am also putting in a water cooling system into this rig. This is my first build although I am very familiar with the process. I don't know much about a WC system.
Specs are going to be
Mobo GA-970A-DS3
Processor AMD 8350
PSU Corsair 850 Bronze
Ram Patriot Viper 1866 8gig X2
HDD Insert random HDD here.

I was going to post the components of my WC loop over on the WC board to check and make sure everything is OK. If anyone sees any bottlenecking issues, or any issues in general, let me know. Thanks for your help!

How much did you want to spend since the price difference between the two is nearly double...

yeah.... 2 REALLY different cards. What you need them for ? gaming ? resolution ?

Not related to the GPU but if you're going H2O to try and achieve high overclocks with that mother board/ cpu set up you are probably going to be disappointed. That motherboard is most likely not going to be able to handle that cpu overclocked.

Not related to the GPU but if you're going H2O to try and achieve high overclocks with that mother board/ cpu set up you are probably going to be disappointed. That motherboard is most likely not going to be able to handle that cpu overclocked.

+1, if you want to see anything worthwhile using watercooling, I would suggest a different board.