• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New Build by Complete Novice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

beginnerpcbuild

Registered
ok guys have a look at my first build on a budget and let me know your thoughts

ps I have already bought the case, so work around that if you are going to give me advice on what to buy and what not to buy etc.

CiT Vantage Midi Gaming Case
XFX Radeon HD 7770 Graphics Card 1GB PCI Express 3.0 x16 Mini-DisplayPor​t/HDMI/Dual-Lin​k DVI-I (Double Dissipation Edition)
AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 965 - 3.4 Ghz AM3 Black Edition
Asus M5A78L/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, DDR3, 5200MT/S, ATX)
Kingston 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 Non-ECC CL9 DIMM Memory (2 of those)
Western Digital Caviar Green 1TB SATA III 6 Gbps Internal 3.5 inch Hard Drive
CiT 650W Gold Edition PSU

I'm from the uk and from uk websites this totals to about £550 ($865). As this is my first build, I'd like to keep it under £800 ($1250). But if this wasn't possible I'd be willing to spend a couple of hundred more.

What are the uses of this machine?

I would get a PSU from our list (see the link in my signature for our PSU guide). Also, for that money, there isnt a reason not to go intel with that budget.

Scan has some incredible deals.

EDIT: Well you seem to be getting a PSU from the other thread...what's the budget for only the components that you need, and what are those components? xxx amount for everything except a case and PSU?

Last edited:
earthdog, remember I am in the uk, parts seem to be more expensive here. Intel would be good though. Let me know what you think. I'm going to use it for general use and I may start to play some games.

XFX Radeon HD 7770 Graphics Card 1GB PCI Express 3.0 x16 Mini-DisplayPor​t/HDMI/Dual-Lin​k DVI-I (Double Dissipation Edition) £130 / $204