• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New build seems to have many problems.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Yeoman

Okay, I'm new to building computers, but I took a lot of care when assembling my parts (and used an antistatic wrist strap). I haven't yet installed an OS. First I'll list what components I have:

Intel i5-2500k (with stock cooler).
Asus P8P67 Intel P67 B3 Revision.

Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C8 1600MHz Dual Channel
MSI ATI Radeon HD 6850 Cyclone Power Edition 1024MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card

Samsung SH-B123L
Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB SATA 6Gb/s 32MB Cache

Zalman Z9 plus case
Antec HCG 620w

There are four main issues I seem to be having:

(1) CPU overheats (shows 97 degree C)
(2) On the first 'info' screen at bootup, I get a "Hard disk not detected message"
(3) PC almost always turns on, turns off, then turns back on again when booting.
(4) Side case fan is annoying loud (sounds like its catching on itself maybe?) It certainly doesn't help calm the nerves when turning it on.

(1) Regarding the CPU overheating; I think this is my fault. When I turned it on for the very first time, I hadn't got the cooler in properly, so two of the pins came lose when the fan came on. My impression was this spoilt the spread of the stock paste, and was probably the reason for the same 97 degree C on subsequent boots.
After initially correctly attaching the cooler, I subsequently took it off again, and then put it back on; this seemed to have some effect, and temps where at 65ish, when i got into the BIOS, but would rise into the red after about 60 seconds.