• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Newbie Building a Gaming Computer! Help needed!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Spoonyy

Well, the title basically says all. I am fairly new to the construction of a computer specifically for playing games on. I love gaming, but have never been able to really get the whole experience since all of my computers are outdated or laptops.

I'm planning on building a fairly cheap computer that can mostly run Minecraft and MW3 on moderate to max settings. Most of the components and parts I am going to use I would like to be from Best Buy.

I started by going through several different pieces. Here is what I have so far:

Now, that's all I have so far. Keep in mind I am VERY new to this, so if you see any way to get me a computer that can do what I asked for A LOT cheaper, I would appreciate that.

My preferred price is between $150 to $300. Help!

OK, first of all you can't build a gaming PC with a 300$ budget, you need at least 800$ to start with the basics.
Second of all the i5 2300 is not as good as a 2500k, (when you see K at the end it means that the CPU has an unlocked core meaning it can be overclocked easily.
Third of all the motherboard you provided is a LGA 775 socket , the i5 is a LGA 1155 socket (these are two different sockets)
Fourth of all , you won't need a dedicated sound card if you don't have high-end speakers, you would be fine on the on-board sound card and the sound card you have provided will have lower quality sound that the sound card on the motherboard.
Also, the case you have provided does not have proper cooling for a gaming system.

You can possibly build a AMD A4 system (it's a new CPU that has a dedicated GPU integrated inside the CPU and it has surprisingly good gaming performance)