• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Oscilloscope case.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tjdude

So I am an electrical engineering grad student and dont have the $100 to spend on a case for my new build.

I was thinking about ripping the guts out of an old oscope that I can get for free. :rock: maybe something that looks like.....

http://cgi.ebay.com/EICO-460-DC-Wid...68313?pt=BI_Oscilloscopes&hash=item3a67c07139

I was thinking about using the controls on the front to control fan speed. maybe have a hardware OC switch.

Ideas to make it awesome?

Have you seen the size of a crt tube. It streches all the way to the back of the case. I was going to put a green led fan in that hole.

It becomes substantially less cool with the screen removed, but if you must remove it at least you'll get some airflow going in the thing.

Should be pretty easy to wire up those knobs into a voltage controller for the fans.

You could get a MB that outputs the CPU temp and other details to a small LCD screen. That could be cool to mount in the front as well. But man, if you could get some sort of analog readout, that would be the coolest.

How about a 10w tube amplifier behind plexi there? Maybe some old 12au7 tubes with a strange tetrode power tube. That would be cool. Yeah?