• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PROJECT LOG Project Insomnia

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

reap3r

*Disclaimer* - I am an amateur modder and this is my first (documented) attempt at modding. Just want to make that clear before I step into the company of some really skilled individuals. :thup:

------------------------------------------------

Well, like I said, this is my official debut in the case modding realm. I have tinkered around with cases before and stuck blowholes here and there but I've never tackled anything bigger than that. I've been mulling over a new build for the last few months and a couple weeks ago made the decision to go through with it. Then I decided to take it to that next level.

Here's a basic rundown of the components as it stands. It's still subject to minor changes (A lot of "overkill" parts, yes, but that's part of the fun! Also don't worry, this isn't just for gaming).

Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D
CPU: Intel Core-i7 3770k
Motherboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
CPU Cooler: Corsair H100
RAM: 32GB 1866MHz Corsair Dominator Platinum
SSD: 1x 60GB Intel 520 SSD, 1x 240GB Intel 520 SSD
GPU: 2x EVGA GTX 680 4GB Classified in SLI
PSU: Corsair AX1200i

As you can no doubt tell I am a big fan of Corsair products. :D

I haven't bought any of the internal components yet - I'm delaying that until I actually nail out all the modding first. I have the H100, the case and almost all the supplies I need (should get the rest over the next couple weeks) so this post is really the bare, bare, bare starting point for the project. Wanted to get the thread going so I could just post updates as I go along.

Time for pics so far!

Note: I accidentally had my camera set to low resolution so upcoming posts will have full-res images. Sorry about that!