• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

RAM Refuses to OC, DDR4-3600 CL18 - CMW16GX4M2D3600C18

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kickasskingy

Hi All,

I have recently upgraded and trying to OC my RAM. My system:
- Corsair Vengence DDR4-3600 CL18 - CMW16GX4M2D3600C18
- MSI Tomahawk X570
- Ryzen 7 5800X (stock)
- RTX 3060 Ti

I have seen many articles on overclocking this RAM and even MSI list it on their QVL with memory presets on the mobo - eg https://www.overclockers.com/forums...o-RGB-2x8GB-DDR4-3600-CL18-CMW16GX4M2D3600C18

Anyhow, I can apply the one XMP profile to the RAM and it is very stable no issue - don't get me wrong I am happy with this, but as an engineer, I can't help but want to tinker and optimise :p

The issue I have is that any timing change I apply refuses to POST? Even worse ones!
I have tried using tools like Ryzen Mem Calc to no POST.
I have tried many Mem Try It! presets on my motherboard... none are stable and only one actually POSTs (but is unstable).
I have tried following many DDR4 OC guides online, including those in this forum.

By fixing the timings to stock and simply increasing the mem frequency to 3800mhz (keeping infinity fabric to 1:1), I was able to get this one OC to POST. All memory benches I throw at it passed and did well!
However, the PC would instantly crash on any CPU bench! This was when I noticed that actually when any Mem OC I try fails to POST it is actually the CPU fail light on not memory!

Why would any memory OC (except the XMP) cause the CPU to fail?

I have tried tweaking the SoC and VDDG voltages but to no effect.

What am I missing here that would mean the CPU hates any memory tweak? I assume I'm being a tard and missing something obvious in BIOS, or the motherboard is doing something silly to a parameter set to "auto"!