• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Samba and Large File Copies stop working

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

GreenJelly

Basics
Ok, Im relatively new to Linux, and am having problems finding debug information for this problem. So any help on where to find debug information would be great

I am running SAMBA with work groups enabled. The service is slow to respond (the My Network takes awhile finding this machine) . After a few seconds (5-10) it lists this machine. After a fresh reboot of the Linux machine the drive is accessible and I'm able to start coping files. 10+ minutes into the transfer it abnormally stops. All remote drive access to this machine then becomes unavailable, and sometimes the machine stops showing up.

I figure the netbios and Samba is crashing, or the file system, or the network... I don't really know. So where do I start debugging and fixing this issue.

Additional Information

BTW Samba is included in SUSE (though it maybe an extra install option). There is a tool to set it up, though I found this to be less then what I wanted. So with some help with the Gentoo IRC (they have the best support, just dont tell them your running SuSe... hehe), I got it up and running using a custom setup with a separate login DB.

I then created a directory under home (which is on my Mirrored Boot drive) and a new directory under root (which is on my RAID-5 array). I then set my permissions on the "/Movies" drive to include the users group. I then created a symlink on the "/home/Media/" (which is part of the boot Mirrored drive. I also have "/home/Media/Music" and a "/home/Media/Video"!

That's very odd. Are you sure it's samba? Could it be something else, like a flaky network?

Have you tried moving large files from one pc to another using nfs?