• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Should I get a XP 2600?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

cyber mouse45

Cyber Cheesiest Senior
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Location
SC
Can some of you amd guys tell me why I would want to get a xp 2600 ($298) over a p4 2.53 ($243) or a 2.66 ($315)? What kind of advantages, if any, does this xp have over the 2 p4 chips? I was planning on getting a p4 for my new pc, but the 2600 just came out, and now I’m having second thoughts. What's the most bang for the buck? Also, does the 2600 get really hot, and has anybody had a chance to overclock it yet?


Thanks!
 

new_novice

Member
Joined
May 1, 2002
Location
san jose, CA
XP2600, DDR Cheaper then RAMBUS (1066), couples with Nforce2 mobo, I'd say you'd get about the same performance with the P4 and cheaper. Once you overclocked them both, the P4 might have a LITTLE more advantage, but not much IMO, and the XP still would be cheaper.....how much is the 2600 at newegg? there must be places that has them for cheaper.
 

Lumen

Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2002
Location
NMSU
2600+ is cheapest at newegg, they give free shipping.

I would say go with the 2600+ its cheaper, and the nforce2 amd board outerperformes is intel counterparts.
 
OP
cyber mouse45

cyber mouse45

Cyber Cheesiest Senior
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Location
SC
The 2600 is cheaper than the P4 2.66, but it's $50 more than the 2.53. I got the prices from newegg.

Also, I'm planning on getting an ABIT IT7 MAX2 if I get the p4, and the ABIT AT7-MAX2 if I go amd. I'm getting CORSAIR XMS3200 or XMS3500 DDR ram to go with it I think.

Whichever one I get, I'd like to overclock a little, but not much. I want to keep my case as quite as I can, so I'm not getting a monster heatsink with a Delta fan on it. ;) I'm not using watter cooling this time either.
 

ntpphong

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2002
Location
CA
why not buy the 2400+ and save yourself $100 to put in an excellent memory to o/c it to a 2600+? just my oppinion..unless you really want to have the 333Mhz fsb as stock speed.
 

cypher

Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2002
Location
Richland, WA
Just got a 2600 tonight. Already up to 2241, 2249 in WCPUID. just by upping the multiplyer and still at stock voltage. Also run cooler than my 2100.
 
OP
cyber mouse45

cyber mouse45

Cyber Cheesiest Senior
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Location
SC
cypher said:
Just got a 2600 tonight. Already up to 2241, 2249 in WCPUID. just by upping the multiplyer and still at stock voltage. Also run cooler than my 2100.

Can you tell me what your temps are?