• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Windows or linux

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

anonymous51

Registered
Hey guys I am wondering what do you guys use windows or linux and why? I look forward to hearing from you thanks Gabe.

Gabe. I use Windows.
1) I can just buy, install it and use it.
2) It's the evil that I know so when it breaks, I know where to look.
3) It's what my clients use. I want to live in the MS world that they live in so that I can better understand their needs.

I make my living in the MS world so I play in the MS world too.

Don.

Such an open ended question!

Windows.

Unless you know Linux well or have the time, patience, and inclination to learn it, I would stick with Windows. While most of what can be done in Windows can be done in Linux, it takes a bit more effort, and there is a learning curve. All games do not work in Linux IIRC... so if you game, that isn't the OS to be on.

Linux has its advantages, in particular for an intermediate to advanced user. But I rest my head on Windows.

My suggestion....... Go Windows and maybe load up a separate HDD/SSD with Linux or run it in a VM and play. When you feel good enough about it, switch over.

Anybody who uses an Iphone or an android phone runs linux, so you could say the entire planet does use linux. OTH, since ms windows came out before smartphones, windows is proliferate to the entire planet as well.
When MS stops supporting windows 7 next year (tentatively on 1.14.19), I plan on replacing win7 with something akin to MX linux. By that time my Qnap TVS-473E will be up and running so I can simply leave win7 in a virtual machine and as well I'll likely run a vm of 10 too just for kicks.