• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Good s775 Intel mobo?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jcw122

OK, im building a comp for a friend and the budget is 600 bucks. I'm looking for a board that will overclock, but i need one that is also reasonably priced, is reliable, that (EDIT) preferibly has a PCI-E port, i dont need anything real special chipset wise (im going w/ a Prescott 505 i think (cause it overclocks beautifully), the kid just does basic things like internet surfing, AIM, etc, no 3d gaming and stuff. Anyway yeah, i'm looking for a cheap board but one w/ reasonable OC abilities, thanks guys.

BTW yeah, im an AMD person so im still learning all about Intel, and I am finding it alot of fun and very interesting!

Last edited:
Sentential said:
Hands down, the best mobo if you are looking for cheap and an AGP slot would be Abit's AS8 plus a cheap LGA775 chip

Actually on second thought, i might want PCI-E since i think i might get an ATI x300 and they only come in PCI-E i think.

BTW sen, I remember seeing a thread today about that Pentium 4 505 Prescoot s775...and it you saying (not to mention the thread creator) saying that if u OC w/ that AS8 board, you almost must do a droop mod, and i definately dont wanna be doing any of that. but anyway, thanks for the mobo suggestion.

Well, with LGA775 and PCI-E vid card, you now have to choose if you want DDR or DDR2. The i915 mobos are the only choice if you want DDR, but they don't overclock very high because the PCI-E frequency lock don't work right. You really want a i925XE chipset for max O/C, like the Abit AA8XE (I have one). That means DDR2 RAM of course. Look at the Abit motherboard section, I have a sticky post about the AA8XE.