• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Best board for a P4 for average home user not OCer?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bdf24

I'm building a system for a guy who insist's on an Intel system. I have never built a P4 system before so I'm a bit in the dark. I assuming a Socket 478 is the way to go, correct? Well what's a good model brandname board (not to high end) to get? He's not an overclocker or anything just an average home user. What's better RDram board or DDR board? I need to quote him a price for part's by tomorrow so he can cutt me a check.

Well your right in going Socket 478, Socket 423 was obsolete as soon as it was released. As for which memory type, it all depends on your budget and how much of a performance freak the person you are building the system for is. For all out P4 performance, the choice is simple, RDRAM. The P4 was built for RDRAM and until a dual channel DDR SDRAM board comes out, RDRAM is still the best solution for a P4. Now if your friend is on a budget, then go with DDR SDRAM. Though right now the price is about the same for both memory types, the difference between the boards is between $20 and $40USD.

My suggestions for P4 boards are:

RDRAM: Abit TH7II(RAID) - This is the board I'm getting for my P4 system - or the Asus P4T-E

DDR SDRAM: Gigabyte GA-8IRXP, Abit BD7-RAID, or the Asus P4B266

Good luck.

Thank's alot for the input. I greatly appreciate it!

A few question's yet though. Will the TH7II support CPU's smaller then the 1.7's? I'm planning on getting a 1.4 or 1.5 gig for him. Abit's website doesn't really specify. It just say's socket 478 cpu's.

Actually anything running the intel chipset which is what the 845 or 850 chipset is. Your going to get the same stability but with the added adjustment's and ability to tweak as well as OC.