• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

advice for 1st box

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

smesx1

Hey everyone this is my first post and im pretty new to all of this stuff so any help here would be nice. Anyways, i plan to build my own system soon and after a few weeks of research here is what i have come up with:

ASUS a7n8x (are there reliability issues here?)

xp1800+ t-bred (what heatsink/fan should i go with?)

2*256mb corsair pc3200

60gb Seagate Barracuda IV (should i get the 80gb WD?)

Enermax psu (is 350w enough?)

what video card should i get??? something around $150-180

I want to overclock to about 2.0ghz and not much over that. I wanted a motherboard that I could upgrade to a new processor with latter so I think this is the right one for me. Im trying real hard to keep the price down so if you could help me with that it would be great.
I thinks thats about all i need, did i forget anything? Thank you for any advice.

Sean

Welcome to the Forum!
The A7N8X is a good board but is 1st Gen and not to many people have them yet.For the heat sink I would recommend the SLK-800 paired with a tornado fan.The mem is good but I have yet to see a huge advantage to using two sticks compared to one 512.I'm not sure on the hard drives but I like seagate allot though.The enermax 350 should do the job but if you want a high end psu I would go with Pc Power and Cooling.For the video card I would wait for the radeon 9500 pro.Not as fast as the 9700 but still very fast.

When is the 9500 pro coming out, and how much is that going to run me? I dont play all that many high end games so a great card isnt needed, i could always get a lesser card, then upgrade later to a better one once i get some more money. Whats a good board for around $160? Thanks

Sean