Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 36

Thread: CPU Replacement

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Vandergrift PA
    Posts
    216

    CPU Replacement

    Currently im running a AMD Phenom II X2 550 BE 3.1 GHZ

    any sugggestions??

    Im Running a ASUS M4A78 Plus MOBO
    MOBO:ASrock Z77 Extreme 4
    CPU:i5-3670k
    GPU:Radaeon 7950
    Memory:G.Skill Ripjaw X 8GB
    Cooling:Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus
    PSU:Rosewill Green series 630w
    Case:Rosewill Challenger(almost too small with the cooler

  2. #2
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Posts
    13,906
    What's your price range?
    CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
    Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
    Cooler: Swiftech H320
    RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

  3. #3
    Disabled
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Anywhere but there
    Posts
    15,734
    Does that board have the ability to unlock the CPU? If not, you might consider a low-cost board that does. No guarantees of course but if your CPU will unlock it would be a cheaper solution than an upgraded CPU.
    Last edited by muddocktor; 06-04-12 at 12:18 PM.

  4. #4
    Member cfh1973's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Pasadena, TX
    Posts
    169
    Quote Originally Posted by QuietIce View Post
    Does that board have the ability to unlock the CPU? If not, you might consider a low-cost board that does. No guarantees of course but if your CPU will unlock it would be a cheaper solution than an upgraded CPU.
    I agree. I looked up your board and you do not have the chipset to unlock. I would spend your money on a MOBO that has a chipset that allows the unlocking of your other cores.
    MOBO - ASUS M4A88T-M
    CPU - AMD Phenom II x6 1090t ( OCed 3.6 GHz)
    GPU - MSI R6950 Twin Frozr II/OC
    RAM - Corsair 4x2, 1333MHz
    PSU - Corsair GS600
    HDD1 - SATA Hitachi 1TB, 7200RPM, 32MB Cache
    HDD2 - SATA WD 300G, 7200RPM, 16MB Cache
    Case - XClio A380Color
    Cooler - Cool Master GeminII S (23c idle/44c load)
    Fans: (2) 250mm LED/(1) 140mm LED (in PSU)/(2) 120mm - (1) LED, (1) on cooler/(2) 80mm - (1) LED, (1) normal/(2) 80mm (in GPU)
    Monitor - 37" 1080p Vizio LCD

  5. #5
    Member saint19's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    402
    The mobo doesn't comes with core unlocker and spend money in a mobo with it is waste money in old technology unless that he goes with AM3 mobo, that also will means new DDR3 RAM.

    I join to trents question, I think that best option here is a CPU X3 with L3 cache or wait for BD.
    CPU: Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3.8GHz with NB @ 3000MHz both using 1.325V
    Cooling: EK Supreme HF Full Nickel + MCP655-D5 + MCR320-QP
    Mobo: Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 Rev. 2.0 with F4 BIOS
    GPU: MSI GTX 680 Lightning 2GB
    RAM: 2x2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer 1600MHz + 2x4GB G.Skill TridentX 2400MHz @ 1600MHz
    SSD: Crucial M4 256GB
    HDD: 2x500GB Itachi 3Gb/s
    Case: Cooler Master HAF X
    PSU: Corsair AX1200
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Cooler Master CPU Cooler fight : Hyper TX3 Evo vs 212 Evo

  6. #6
    jstutman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    MOOissouri
    Posts
    2,535
    Quote Originally Posted by saint19 View Post
    The mobo doesn't comes with core unlocker and spend money in a mobo with it is waste money in old technology unless that he goes with AM3 mobo, that also will means new DDR3 RAM.

    I join to trents question, I think that best option here is a CPU X3 with L3 cache or wait for BD.
    Agree.

    Especially, with the possibility your unlocked core is unstable. I bet you would feel very happy spending money on a new MB for nothing

    X3 or wait for BD

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Vandergrift PA
    Posts
    216
    recomennd any good boards that will fit in my case? apevia dream 2 case
    MOBO:ASrock Z77 Extreme 4
    CPU:i5-3670k
    GPU:Radaeon 7950
    Memory:G.Skill Ripjaw X 8GB
    Cooling:Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus
    PSU:Rosewill Green series 630w
    Case:Rosewill Challenger(almost too small with the cooler

  8. #8
    Member saint19's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    402
    If this: http://www.apevia.com/searchresult.a...s=DREAMER%20II is your case and you want still use your current DDR2 RAM, I suggest your go with a MSI K9A2 Platinum: http://www.yourstoreonline.net/atx_a...omp=googlebase

    Yeah, it's expensive but a very good mobo but very hard to find one new since this mobo is AM2/AM2+ socket.
    CPU: Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3.8GHz with NB @ 3000MHz both using 1.325V
    Cooling: EK Supreme HF Full Nickel + MCP655-D5 + MCR320-QP
    Mobo: Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 Rev. 2.0 with F4 BIOS
    GPU: MSI GTX 680 Lightning 2GB
    RAM: 2x2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer 1600MHz + 2x4GB G.Skill TridentX 2400MHz @ 1600MHz
    SSD: Crucial M4 256GB
    HDD: 2x500GB Itachi 3Gb/s
    Case: Cooler Master HAF X
    PSU: Corsair AX1200
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Cooler Master CPU Cooler fight : Hyper TX3 Evo vs 212 Evo

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Vandergrift PA
    Posts
    216
    Well my current board will support 16GB RAM
    MOBO:ASrock Z77 Extreme 4
    CPU:i5-3670k
    GPU:Radaeon 7950
    Memory:G.Skill Ripjaw X 8GB
    Cooling:Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus
    PSU:Rosewill Green series 630w
    Case:Rosewill Challenger(almost too small with the cooler

  10. #10
    Disabled
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Anywhere but there
    Posts
    15,734
    Quote Originally Posted by saint19 View Post
    If this: http://www.apevia.com/searchresult.a...s=DREAMER%20II is your case and you want still use your current DDR2 RAM, I suggest your go with a MSI K9A2 Platinum: http://www.yourstoreonline.net/atx_a...omp=googlebase

    Yeah, it's expensive but a very good mobo but very hard to find one new since this mobo is AM2/AM2+ socket.
    Are you sure that board will unlock X2's???

    Quote Originally Posted by Hrobakca View Post
    recomennd any good boards that will fit in my case? apevia dream 2 case
    Almost any board will fit that case. The real question here is what do you use the machine for? If it's just gaming you already have a good gaming chip (for most games) but maybe need a better board to get a higher overclock - and see if you can unlock to a quad. If you use it for video encoding, newer games, or anything else that uses more than two cores then you should probably go with a quad - maybe a 645 if you want to keep it cheap?
    Last edited by muddocktor; 06-04-12 at 12:19 PM.

  11. #11
    Member saint19's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    402
    Quote Originally Posted by QuietIce View Post
    Are you sure that board will unlock X2's???

    Almost any board will fit that case. The real question here is what do you use the machine for? If it's just gaming you already have a good gaming chip (for most games) but maybe need a better board to get a higher overclock - and see if you can unlock to a quad. If you use it for video encoding, newer games, or anything else that uses more than two cores then you should probably go with a quad - maybe a 645 if you want to keep it cheap?
    Sorry, I just took in mind the part of "fit in my case", I forgot the unlock feature. I was recommended that mobo for overclock the current CPU without unlock and support AM3 line until 1090T with BIOS update.
    CPU: Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3.8GHz with NB @ 3000MHz both using 1.325V
    Cooling: EK Supreme HF Full Nickel + MCP655-D5 + MCR320-QP
    Mobo: Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 Rev. 2.0 with F4 BIOS
    GPU: MSI GTX 680 Lightning 2GB
    RAM: 2x2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer 1600MHz + 2x4GB G.Skill TridentX 2400MHz @ 1600MHz
    SSD: Crucial M4 256GB
    HDD: 2x500GB Itachi 3Gb/s
    Case: Cooler Master HAF X
    PSU: Corsair AX1200
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Cooler Master CPU Cooler fight : Hyper TX3 Evo vs 212 Evo

  12. #12
    Member Mjolnir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    3,823
    What's the issue though that's making you think about replacing it? If its just gaming, save your money for now. If you do multi-threaded tasks, then think about an upgrade.. But for gaming you'll find that the HD4870 + your Dual core are perfectly fine as a pair. You won't really see any huge bottlenecks.

    If you're upgrading for the sake of upgrading, save up some money for a new machine altogether IMO. (Looking at a Sandy Bridge system here...)

    Also have you OC'd the cpu at all? Do you have a custom cooler? if not, get one perhaps (something cheap, Cooler Master Hyper 212+ comes to mind) and do some OC'ing. Should be plenty really for just gaming..
    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/
    Motherboard - Asus Z87i Pro
    CPU - Pentium G3258 Unlocked, 4.2ghz @ 1.2v + Noctua U9B-SE2
    RAM - 16GB G Skill Ares 1866CL10
    GPU - EVGA GTX 750 Ti
    Storage - Samsung 840 Pro 256GB + 960Gb Crucial SSD
    Case - Ncase(Lian Li) M1
    PSU - Silverstone SFX 450W Gold Modular
    OS - Windows 8.1
    Peripherals - Leopold FC700R Graphite Brown MX + G700s
    Screen(s) - Dell U2711
    Audio - Audioengine 5+ + Audioengine D1 + Wharfdale SW150 /w Shure SRH 1840 Headphones

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Vandergrift PA
    Posts
    216
    I havent overclocked...yet a bit worried on how to do and also blowing the chip....and it is the Black edition i pulled it out and checked serial number on chip....only paid 230 for the system....and no cooler at all
    MOBO:ASrock Z77 Extreme 4
    CPU:i5-3670k
    GPU:Radaeon 7950
    Memory:G.Skill Ripjaw X 8GB
    Cooling:Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus
    PSU:Rosewill Green series 630w
    Case:Rosewill Challenger(almost too small with the cooler

  14. #14
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Posts
    13,906
    Get the best 92 mm fan-based tower cooler you can for your CPU. Your case is too narrow to take the 120 mm fan-base tower coolers which are the best, of course.
    CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
    Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
    Cooler: Swiftech H320
    RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Vandergrift PA
    Posts
    216
    well with no core unlocker....no sense overclocking
    MOBO:ASrock Z77 Extreme 4
    CPU:i5-3670k
    GPU:Radaeon 7950
    Memory:G.Skill Ripjaw X 8GB
    Cooling:Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus
    PSU:Rosewill Green series 630w
    Case:Rosewill Challenger(almost too small with the cooler

  16. #16
    Disabled
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Anywhere but there
    Posts
    15,734
    Huh? That are lots of great dual-core gaming rigs out there running 4+ GHz. No reason not to overclock just because you can't get to a quad (with your current board).

    Do the specific games/apps you have actually use more than two cores and, if so, how much of those cores do they use? Some games may use over two cores but don't use them much, so there's very little improvement from a dual-core to a quad.
    Last edited by muddocktor; 06-04-12 at 12:20 PM.

  17. #17
    Premium Member #13

    wagex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    newkirk, oklahoma
    Posts
    4,916
    Quote Originally Posted by QuietIce View Post
    Huh? That are lots of great dual-core gaming rigs out there running 4+ GHz. No reason not to overclock just because you can't get to a quad (with your current board).

    Do the specific games/apps you have actually use more than two cores and, if so, how much of those cores do they use? Some games may use over two cores but don't use them much, so there's very little improvement from a dual-core to a quad.
    true that raising my brother e6750 dual core from 3.3 to 4ghz raised his black ops fps about 10-20 fps on the next video setting up
    rig-NZXT source 210 elite --serv-- norco 270 2u---------------htpc-apex htpc case
    2500k 4.5ghz 1.3v------------------ opteron 2419 6-core--------------------e6600 @ 3.0ghz
    p67-ud4 ------------------------------ h8dmi-2 --------------------------- gigabyte g41
    8gb gskill 2x4 1600 --------4x4gb samsung ddr2 ECC -----------2x2b ddr3 1600
    xfx r9-280x black ----------------- onboard -----------------------------------HD 5450
    corsair hx850-------------------------antec vp-450----------------------------------275w came with case
    custom loop --------------------------socket f 2u passive ---------------------xigmatek durin
    win 7x64------------------------------server 2012 r2 datacenter--------------win 7 64 bit
    steam user name : Wagex (you happy bro?) HEAT
    "You can't get magical Harry Potter temps with big overclocks, PHYSICS has a lot to do with it." -conumdrum

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Vandergrift PA
    Posts
    216
    I just have no idea what to do to over clock the ram video card and cpu
    MOBO:ASrock Z77 Extreme 4
    CPU:i5-3670k
    GPU:Radaeon 7950
    Memory:G.Skill Ripjaw X 8GB
    Cooling:Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus
    PSU:Rosewill Green series 630w
    Case:Rosewill Challenger(almost too small with the cooler

  19. #19
    Member saint19's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    402
    For overclock the CPU we need use the BIOS and for the GPU I use MSI afterburner, works with all GPUs even if aren't MSI brand.

    Before give you some advices about overclock, we need know something. What cooler do you have?, overclock with the stock cooler is a little risky because doesn't gives you good temps.
    CPU: Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3.8GHz with NB @ 3000MHz both using 1.325V
    Cooling: EK Supreme HF Full Nickel + MCP655-D5 + MCR320-QP
    Mobo: Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 Rev. 2.0 with F4 BIOS
    GPU: MSI GTX 680 Lightning 2GB
    RAM: 2x2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer 1600MHz + 2x4GB G.Skill TridentX 2400MHz @ 1600MHz
    SSD: Crucial M4 256GB
    HDD: 2x500GB Itachi 3Gb/s
    Case: Cooler Master HAF X
    PSU: Corsair AX1200
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Cooler Master CPU Cooler fight : Hyper TX3 Evo vs 212 Evo

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Vandergrift PA
    Posts
    216
    yea just a stock cooler
    MOBO:ASrock Z77 Extreme 4
    CPU:i5-3670k
    GPU:Radaeon 7950
    Memory:G.Skill Ripjaw X 8GB
    Cooling:Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus
    PSU:Rosewill Green series 630w
    Case:Rosewill Challenger(almost too small with the cooler

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •