Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 58
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    New York

    Help with overclocking FX-6100 please

    I have a M5A 78L-M LX Series Asus mobo with a AMD FX-6100 6core cpu i need some help on how to over clock from the bios.... i have 8gigs of ram
    thanks
    Last edited by thideras; 04-04-12 at 09:24 PM. Reason: Added descriptive title

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    New York
    I have AMD overdrive...but it seems to do nothing more then say overclock faild on reboot ^___^

  3. #3
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Please tell us lot more about your hardware. Refer to my "Sig" at the bottom if you want an example. We need more info to help you.

    And don't use anything but the bios to overclock.
    CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
    Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
    Cooler: Swiftech H320
    RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon R9 280X
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    New York
    M5A 78L-M LX Series Asus mobo
    AMD FX-6100 6core cpu
    Corsair XMs3 4gb pc10666 x 2 = 8gb
    Diablotek DA series 600w atx
    Msi mid tower atx raptor case
    Custom Built

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    New York
    cpu is 3.30 and 1tb green western digital hard drive

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    New York
    Video card is Galaxy geforce GT 440

  7. #7
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    You left out one of the key pieces of info. What are you cooling the CPU with?
    CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
    Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
    Cooler: Swiftech H320
    RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon R9 280X
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    New York
    Oh sorry just the fan that came with the cpu

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    New York
    But i have a big fan on left side panle blowing heat out and i have another fan in blowing out in the back then the next fan is blowing in from the inside in the middle of the two cd drive racks then at the bottom of case in front is LED blue fan blowing air out..

  10. #10
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Sir, I regret to inform you that you are not in a very good position to overclock.

    Your CPU pulls 95 watts TDP at stock voltages and frequencies. Your motherboard is only rated for 95 watts. When you start to overclock the CPU it will pull more than 95 watts. On top of that you are very limited from a cooling standpoint with the stock CPU cooler. You risk frustration and damage to your components.

    http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD...specifications

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...name=FX-Series

    On the bright side it sounds like you have good case ventilation. But in the balance I do not advise you to try to overclock this system.
    CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
    Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
    Cooler: Swiftech H320
    RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon R9 280X
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    New York
    i'm not worried about heat at all i have another cooling system ready

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    New York
    i also have another psu if need be.

  13. #13
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Its the motherboard I'm most worried about.
    CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
    Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
    Cooler: Swiftech H320
    RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon R9 280X
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    New York
    Why does it say it allows overclocking tho?

  15. #15

  16. #16
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    It does. It has overclock controls in the bios I imagine but its not necessarily a good idea with just any CPU and it will probably give a very limited overclock on a lot of more potent CPUs. The CPU you have chosen has six cores. It would probably overclock a 65 watt dual core Athlon II Regor CPU like nobody's business.

    The place to start would be to check CPU socket and core temps at stock frequencies and voltages to see if you have any headroom to overclock from a temp standpoint. Download and install two free programs: HWMonitor and Prime95.

    Open HWMonitor on the desktop and leave it open while you run the Prime95 stress test "blend" option for 20 minutes. Take note of the max core temps and CPU temps at the end of that time. The CPU temp may be disguised in a group of "TMPINx" temp readouts. The core temp is them most critical one, however, if its sensor is calibrated accurately, that is. Then report back with results.
    CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
    Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
    Cooler: Swiftech H320
    RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon R9 280X
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

  17. #17
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    New York
    Not sure how to use that stuff but i added a new psu corsair gs600, im only trying to overclock a little bit over 3.30ghz so if you can please assist me id appreciate it a lot

  18. #18
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    The safest way to overclock with limited cooling is for you to just start increasing your CPU multiplier .5x until it becomes unstable. That will minimize the extra heat causeg by also increasing your CPU voltage and something that is usually done in conjunction with raising the multiplier when cooling is adequate. Without raising your CPU voltage your overclock will be more limited but it may meet your stated expectations without creating a lot of extra heat. After each increase of .5x you should run 20 minutes of the Prime95 blend test to check for stability. When it won't pass the Prime95 20 minute test, dial the multiplier back to the last one that passed. Really, you should eventually test your overclock with at least 2 hours of Prime95 but 20 minutes is long enough to establish tentative stability.
    CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
    Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
    Cooler: Swiftech H320
    RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon R9 280X
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

  19. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by n0xturnaL View Post
    Not sure how to use that stuff but i added a new psu corsair gs600, im only trying to overclock a little bit over 3.30ghz so if you can please assist me id appreciate it a lot
    Noxturnal, your CPU automatically turbo boosts to 3.9ghz, so overclocking it and turning off turbo isn't going to do much. If you're looking for an overclock it's going to have to be 4.0hz+. Also, you're not going to see a huge performance difference with only a 100 mhz overclock, so letting your CPU turbo up to 3.9ghz might be your best bet. Of course, I'd love to see you play and see if the stock cooler let's you get to 4.0ghz, but you'll have to play with the multiplier to do that safely.

    Follow trents information above my post to achieve that. Don't forget to download HWMonitor and watch that as you run Prime 95, you'll want to make sure the CORES do not go over 55C.
    Last edited by skpwn; 04-05-12 at 09:32 AM.
    CPU: AMD FX-6200 - OCd to 4.2ghz
    Fan cooler: Hyper 212+
    Mobo: ASUS M5A97 AM3+ AMD 970
    Ram: G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
    Vid Card: XFX Radeon HD 6790 1GB
    Power Supply: Antec 500w
    Case: Lian Li PC-K57


    "Friends don't let friends buy budget motherboards. Hehehe. " - RGone

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Monroe, LA
    Quote Originally Posted by trents View Post
    Its the motherboard I'm most worried about.
    ^^^^^^^^ That right there.

    I will echo what Trents said and suggest you to run the CPU at stock and advise against any type of OC.
    CPU AMD FX-6100 @ 4.5Ghz 1.51v
    CPU Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212+
    MOBO ASUS M5A97 AM3+ AMD 970
    Video XFX Radeon HD 6790 1GB
    RAM G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
    PSU Antec NEO ECO 620C 620W

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •