• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What is currently the most cost effective folding rig currentl

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Junebug

Hi All,

It has been quite a while since I have posted here. My son (gulp35) and I have been folding for Team 32 for more than 10 years now. We are still on the front page but slowly slipping off. The only rig I gave folding right now is my old standby, the wooden Dual Opteron 246 (four cores). It has been folding for many years now and was churning out 50,000 to 60,000 point a month but recently it has started to fail to complete WU and may be showing its age. I know I could dive in and read the forums for a few weeks and get caught up, but I wonder if you all could give me a quick run down on what the current best rigs are. I have read a little about 4P rigs and am quite impressed. Are they the best bang for the buck, or is it the GPU route, or something else? I am looking for the best return in points per dollar, not the biggest ultimate rig. We used to farm several hundred rigs, and at one point jumpsticked data to and from machines isolated from the internet. so I am more about efficiency than bragging rights for the most ppd per single rig

I appreciate your feedback...

Junebug (a subsidiary of Gulp35, Inc.)

Speaking as a relative rookie, there's no doubt that it's all about GPUs at the moment. Efficiency? Maxwell architecture Nvidia - 970 or 980 or even 750 for a lower budget. Three cards on a 1000W PSU - I'm no expert on that last part - and you could enjoy 750K PPD (970s). Actually, I am personally running 3x 970 on an 860w and so far it seems OK.

the 970 is looking like the card to use right now, with good ppd for the watts.
here in north georgia microcenter has them for $339, I'm north of gainesville.