• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AIO water setup suggestions?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ben S

Registered
Hey
I’m new to water blocks, fittings, tubes, reservoirs…pretty much all of it, and hoping to get some advice.
I’ve done some research, not a lot.
And I’m building mATX and bought this AIO http://www.swiftech.com/H140-X.aspx
I was going to try my hand at changing the fittings and tubing anyways, and now I see it has dye particles in the coolant.
Factory coolant is a propylene glycol mix and I don’t know if the dye needs that to dissolve.
When I refill it I know distilled water is recommended here. With a biocide.

What should I do to get rid of the dye? Before I drain it, should I run it to dissolve it? Or drain it first > fill & run > drain & fill, like flushing it? Would I have to disassemble the block or anything to inspect that the dye is dissolved?

The stock tubes are too long, I’m getting rid of the dye, and changing the fittings & tubing.
So I might as well go a bit further and try to make it more aesthetically pleasing.
I’m thinking bring rigid tubes down and across, but I don't know what it takes to achieve that.
What do you think?

View attachment 177809

Any suggestions?

Would there be a preference for 3/8 or ½ ID?
What type of G¼ fitting is the most reliable?

Thanks

Can I ask why you are not doing a custom loop instead of trying to mod that aio. If you have not already stated cutting into it I would suggest returning it and building a custom loop.

Can I ask why you are not doing a custom loop instead of trying to mod that aio. If you have not already stated cutting into it I would suggest returning it and building a custom loop.

Sure you can !
There’s no cutting to it.
I figured that was coming.

Thanks for the response. And my feeble answer is….