• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Cooling in my first custom system

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Comrade

Registered
I've never built a system before, so I'm not very experienced. I've noticed that my operating temperatures are not very good at all--average CPU temp is 47 ºC, and average case temp is 35 ºC. I've attached an image of the rest of my temps/stats, and my specs are in my sig. I haven't unlocked the multiplier, everything runs reliably, and I'm using a PCH610T HSF from Power Cooler (http://www.powercooler-usa.com/SocketSolution/pch610t.htm). I've noticed that the temperatures are the same even when I'm running it at a normal 133 MHz FSB. I've got 3 case fans running (80mm Antec SmartFans), two bringing air in the front and one blowing out the back (plus PSU fan out back). Does anybody have any ideas why this temp is so high? I know that my HSF isn't AMD-approved, and I'm willing to replace it if I have to, but it doesn't look like the list of approved HSFs has been updated in a while and my HSF is pretty new. Everything runs as fast as a mofo.

I'm also wondering why my PC2700 RAM won't hit 333 MHz (it only goes to 266, 133*2, by SPD). My ratio is 4:2:1, and I've got the latest bios for my mobo, and I've read my manuals' troubleshooters to no avail.

Sometimes when I go into BIOS setup, I get a blinking underscore cursor at the top and a blue bar across the bottom, and the system freezes. This happens sporadically, and tests with removing/replacing the PCI cards have been inconclusive. Any ideas?

Thanks a lot.

Attachments

• temps.gif
    temps.gif
    9.6 KB · Views: 80