• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Logitech z640 review

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Bobby

I wasn't sure where to put this but this seems like the most logical choice.

While building my system over the past month and testing various memory modules and constantly placing orders for minor stuff here and there, I ended up buying a SB Live! ($33) and Logitech z640 5.1 speakers ($65) from Newegg.

The reason for the SB Live! was mainly for the game port as I have a Thrustmaster from years ago and I like flight sims. It was nice that it supported 5.1 DD too :). I set this up with my 2.1 Cambridge Soundworks that I bought about 3 yrs ago for pretty cheap and it was decent for games and music.

I found that my Fortron 350w ps was straining in my system and making strange noises so I decided to upgrade to an Antec True480w. I was looking at Vantec and a couple of others but I figured I'd check out what all the fuss was about the Antec ps'. One damn fine power supply. Tons of connectors and excellent rails. Since I was placing yet another order from my favorite online store, Newegg, I decided to get new speakers since they were on sale and fairly cheap.

Now I'm by no means an audiophile but I'm also not tone deaf. I have a 5.1 home theather system that cost me about $6,000 including a 50" tv. Don't expect amazing quality from these speakers. They are MUCH better than my old 2.1 speakers though. I've been playing some music and it sounds much better now. You definitely need to tweak the sound settings to get the most out of them but it's worth the time. I can understand how some say these speakers are boomy but you can adjust it with software.