• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help me solve this overclocking mystery

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Josh_Hayes

Registered
I'm a newb at overclocking so bear with me...

I have a 2.8C P4 - SL6Z5 Spec - M0 Stepping CPU
2 x 256MB HyperX KHX3200K2 PC3200 2-5-2-2 @ 400FSB
Abit IC7-G with Rev 19 BIOS

I am trying to work with the tightest timings possible on the memory while overclocking my CPU.

I can overclock the CPU to 265FSB (havent tried higher) @ 1.525V which runs at 60* C with Prime95 running in Max Heat mode and a looped Quake 3 Timed Demo. This is with the memory at 4:3 to eliminate it from holding me back.

I can overclock the Memory to 212FSB @ 2.8v w/ 2-5-2-2, GAT - F1, Auto, 3 Clks, Auto, Auto when running at 1:1 ratio.

But when I try to combine the two...

FSB @ 265 : 212 with 5:4 ratio but it wont boot into Windows.

If I set the memory to 2-5-2-2 GAT - Auto, Auto, Auto, Auto, Auto
it boots fine.

If I set GAT to anything other than Auto, the system will not boot...

What is my bottleneck here? What am I doing wrong?

-Josh

Would I be better off returning the board and memory for a IC7-MAX3 and Corsair XMS4000 1GB Kit? It'd only be another $130 for an extra 512MB of RAM and a board with better VDIMM settings. Will the XMS4000 run at 265FSB with default timings and GAT? What kind of voltage can the XMS4000 take?

Are there any good articles with benchies on the difference between a P4 @ 800FSB - DDR400 2-5-2-2 versus P4 @ 1000FSB - DDR500 3-4-4-8? Which would be faster for games and general usage in Windows? Looks like I got a decent proc, wanna take advantage of it! ;)