• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

mysql is killing me

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

G-PHoRCe

i'm trying to set up an apache server http://kahira.no-ip.com/
i've set up the apache with php and now i've tried to do the next step whic is to use mysql in order to use php nuke....(tell me if i'm wrong, i'm new at this)

i've instaled mysql then launched winmysqladmin and the programs flashed once and went in my task bar showing a stoplight (green light) i made some research online and i installed the 3.51 driver... also went to command prompt and followed this http://internetmaster.com/installtutorial/configure_mysql.htm but when i hit enter after this line.
GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON *.* TO 'your_username'@'localhost' IDENTIFIED BY 'your_password' WITH GRANT OPTION;
i get this
ERROR 1064: You have an error in your SQL syntax. Check the manual that corresp
onds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'password' at line 1
:bang head :bang head :bang head

can anyone help me with this matter??? i have this same server running ftp if you want to send me some files that i may be missing or even better, the code that i may be missing ftp://kahira.no-ip.com/
thanks for the help.

You did expand out 'your_username'@'localhost' and 'password' to actually be those, right?

I.e. xwred1@localhost

On their site, they have what they say is a nice new mysql installer. Maybe it will do this for you?

I know you already have apache and php but you might want to try one of the all in one's like PHPDev,