• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

looser timings, better performance?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

DuckOfDeath

Registered
I was running 3dmark05 at 2-2-2-5 timings stable, then after looking around on different forums I though I might try 2-2-2-6 and I got a higher score. Obviously not by much (like 20-30 points). I'm currently running the RAM at 450mhz (HTT @ 225) @ 2.96v. My 3dmark05 score is around 7030. Any thoughts on this? both timings were prime stable.
I'm still a noob at this so any feedback would be good.

DuckOfDeath said:
I was running 3dmark05 at 2-2-2-5 timings stable, then after looking around on different forums I though I might try 2-2-2-6 and I got a higher score. Obviously not by much (like 20-30 points). I'm currently running the RAM at 450mhz (HTT @ 225) @ 2.96v. My 3dmark05 score is around 7030. Any thoughts on this? both timings were prime stable.
I'm still a noob at this so any feedback would be good.
Lowering tras does not give better performance, its similar to tref, most settings will work and a few give slightly better stability/bandwidth. Tweeking and testing is th ekey. The change may have affected bandwidth slightly or the change may be within margin or error. All settings are not as simple as lower = better.

Lowering tRAS actually can improve performance, but there's a threshold. If it's too low (5 at 2-2-2 is too low) then the memory will try to perform a new read before the last read is finished. As a result, you end up with read errors and the reads need to be performed again. That's what causes the performance hit in 3DMark - your RAM isn't entirely stable, and the system is having to work harder to correct errors. If you go up to 2-2-2-7, you'll probably see worse scores again because the RAM is waiting longer than it needs to.