• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Raptor upgrade confusion

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

cmat

Registered
Well, I'm new to this whole SATA RAID thing, so to learn more, the first thing I did was read the heck out of the Forums. Unfortunately, I seem to have become more confused than less. For some reason, I can't totally wrap my head around this.

Instead of posting the usual "How do I do this?" thing, I thought I would instead post my scenario and what I hope to try and do---then have you knowledgables tell me if I'm nuts or on track. Crack or track?

Scenario:
I have had 2 WD PATA Caviar drives (here) for a few years now. The Master I use for XP and general files, the Slave I use for Games and backups of document data.
I am upgrading my CPU to a lovely 4000+ San Diego and I'm thinking that my main bottleneck will now be my harddrives. So, I also want to upgrade to 2 Raptors.

How am I going to do this (Subtitled: Am I nuts)?

-Purchase 2 74gb Raptors
-Install XP on 1 with drivers as well
-Get 2nd driver to be recognized by XP
-Set them both up to run in RAID 0 (if I have 2 SATA drives I HAVE to use a RAID setup, yes?)
-Use Acronis True Image to make a copy of my old PATA drives and install that image to the new drives
-Keep 1 of my old PATA drives for backup storage

Does this even make sense? I still haven't figured out, of course, just exactly HOW I'm doing all theses steps, but right now I just want to see if I'm on the right track...or on Crack.

Thanks in advance to all the members that keep these great Forums alive and helpful for folks like me!

-Purchase 2 74gb Raptors
Sure.
-Install XP on 1 with drivers as well
If you want to set up a RAID, you need to do that before installing your OS.
-Get 2nd driver to be recognized by XP
I'm not exactly sure what you mean here.