Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

at wits end with this board

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-24-06, 05:36 PM Thread Starter   #1
wrangler88
Member



Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North Olmsted ohio

 
at wits end with this board


ok so i got a bad p5wd2-p sent it to asus they sent me a new one, now it worked for a day, overclocked it and it wanted to reboot and after the reboot the monitor just blinks and it doesnt post, cleared the cmos still wont post, i had this same exact problem with my last board after the reboot, if i put all the same components into my gigabyte 975 board they all work great.. anyone explain this? why does this keep happening it seems after the reboot after overclocking the board dies?
thanks guys, i was so happy i got the board back and now nothing this makes no sense...
wrangler88 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 03-24-06, 10:34 PM   #2
proth
Member

 
proth's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: In your mirror

 
Wrangler.. What kind of Video card.

ALSO... Watch the Keyboard leds on powerup. What do they do.?

Wait 20 seconds after powering on and try to toggle the caps lock button on the keyboard. Does the Caps lock LED toggle along with the key press.?

__________________
PROTH, CONTACT KRAG ASAP, YOU DECIDED TO TRADE OUTSIDE THE CLASSIFIEDS AND YOU HAVE ANOTHER MEMBERS HARDWARE YOU VOLT-MODDED AND NEVER RETURNED TO HIM. BE A GOOD IDEA TO CONTACT KRAG BEFORE WE MAKE THIS A TROLL SITUATION-FORUM STAFF
proth is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-06, 01:18 AM Thread Starter   #3
wrangler88
Member



Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North Olmsted ohio

 
its a 7800gt pcie, ive tried swapping in a pci and still no luck, all the fans turn on , the hard drive light stays on for about 10 seconds and the cd drive blinks a few times when i press the on button, but after that the monitor just blinks on and off like no signal, its jus twierd because i had all these components in the gigabyte board with no issues, and now AGAIN the same issue with this board....
wrangler88 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-06, 01:19 AM Thread Starter   #4
wrangler88
Member



Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North Olmsted ohio

 
nothing happens when i press the caps lock key or any other keys, the keyboard doesnt even flash
wrangler88 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-06, 01:31 AM   #5
Sentential
Contributing Member

 
Sentential's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Midland, Texas

 
Wrangler what heatsink are you using? If you are using one where metal rests aganst the CPU socket area that is the problem. There are several poorly coated traces around the socket on the front side of the motherboard which shorts out (for example while using the LGA775 bracket from thermalright)

To test if you are having this issue get out your stock cooler. You will immediately find that it will be working perfectally. The other way of testing this is by booting in single-channel with the ram in various slots (the short prevents normal boots in dual-channel).

That is partially what I use to wake my board up. I reseat the ram till it POSTs then I shut it off and add the other stick.

I thought one of my boards was bad as well but im on that very same board as we speak.
Sentential is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-06, 10:11 AM Thread Starter   #6
wrangler88
Member



Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North Olmsted ohio

 
im using an xp120 heatsink with the 775 adapter, so if it was shorting it out is there any damange to the board? ill try your ideas sent, and HOPEFULLY thats it, i still have my stock cooler which i can thro on and see if that does anything, thanks again guys, ill let u know how it turns out!
wrangler88 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-06, 10:12 AM   #7
proth
Member

 
proth's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: In your mirror

 
The CPU is definately not running.

Here's what I do to check if the CPU is powered up. It sounds nuts but it determines if the core is running and the power, reset circuitry is good. Just gives another piece of the puzzle:

Remove the HSF or water block.
Press your thumb on the CPU IHS
Turn power on
You should feel the heat within 3-5 seconds
And, then maybe turn power off....Or run a few Super PIs this way...If you alternate thumbs real fast you may be able to keep it under 50c...LOL

There's a lot of housekeeping the hardware does before applying power to the CPU and the power supply also has overcurrent/overvoltage protection.

If there's a short, PSU problem, etc the core will stay cold.If the ram, video, etc was bad the core will still get hot.

__________________
PROTH, CONTACT KRAG ASAP, YOU DECIDED TO TRADE OUTSIDE THE CLASSIFIEDS AND YOU HAVE ANOTHER MEMBERS HARDWARE YOU VOLT-MODDED AND NEVER RETURNED TO HIM. BE A GOOD IDEA TO CONTACT KRAG BEFORE WE MAKE THIS A TROLL SITUATION-FORUM STAFF
proth is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-26-06, 09:17 PM Thread Starter   #8
wrangler88
Member



Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North Olmsted ohio

 
well took the heatsink off and the cpu DOES get hot, wow, really fast too still wont post tho, tried 2 differnt sticks of ram in differnt slots and still nothing, any other ideas, the MB is out of the case ,so its not a grounding problem, i just dont get how my gigabyte board works te first time with all the components, rails on the psu seem excellent, any other guesses.. not sure they will get me RMA this one again...
wrangler88 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-27-06, 07:49 PM   #9
proth
Member

 
proth's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: In your mirror

 
Well at least you have the core running, so there's no shorts in the 12v. Have you tried Sen's idea of removing the bracketing and going back to the stock HSF.?

Why don't you unplug the video, SATA, ATA, everything but the keyboard and see if the LEDS flash on powerup. Keep in mind this only works with the PS2 interface and not USB keyboards.

__________________
PROTH, CONTACT KRAG ASAP, YOU DECIDED TO TRADE OUTSIDE THE CLASSIFIEDS AND YOU HAVE ANOTHER MEMBERS HARDWARE YOU VOLT-MODDED AND NEVER RETURNED TO HIM. BE A GOOD IDEA TO CONTACT KRAG BEFORE WE MAKE THIS A TROLL SITUATION-FORUM STAFF
proth is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-27-06, 08:31 PM Thread Starter   #10
wrangler88
Member



Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North Olmsted ohio

 
yep tried that, no blinks on the keyboard.. ugh is this board dead too? i just dont get if i plug everthing back into my gigabyte board it all works just fine!!! odds o having 2 bad p5wd2-ps just doesnt make sense!
wrangler88 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-28-06, 08:16 PM   #11
ECH
Member

 
ECH's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maryland

 
Was your Thermaltake brackets reused from another MB?

Personally, I would do what they suggest tak the MB off the MB tray and examine it. You need to check the socket area for TC spillage, dust, anything. Use an old toothbrush...just use your own Toothbrush and get one at your local store later on tonight. With some alcohol (at least 80% or better) and clean out debris that you find that cannot be removed by a can of air. Also exam the rest of the board for "light color" marks and pay attention for the smell of burning solder as well as bulging caps and burn mosfets. You have to take time and really examine this. It might be something simple as suggest earlier.
ECH is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?