• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help! Noobie attempting to overclock a ATI x1900xtx

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

GreenJelly

WOOT! Again I get a chance to be a Noob! What an opportunity to be on the otherside of the fence! But I have very little knowledge in this area, even though I have tried to read allot about the process.

Ok, so I have found my max reliable settings using ATITool at stock voltage. This is often the first step in many guides for OCing the X1900xtx.

I do not shut down ATIEV***.dll or whatever in the task manager, because it seems that ATITool only changes the 3D settings and not the 2D settings. I also seem to have weird behavior when I shut it down. I dont know why I should have to power the 3D processors when I dont use it...

Many people, and guides, recommend shutting this process off, but I cant see any reference talking about it on the ATITool website. It apears that ATITool works with these applications and that it doesnt compete with them anymore.

I have Windows XP(64) and have confirmed that it works with ATITool, by reading the documentation...

I have found my max CPU speeds to be around 730mhz, and Mem speeds at around 810mhz.

I pump up my CPU voltage (the top voltage) to 1.5 (max recommendation for aircooled--I run water cooled), and try to add anymore MHz. It doesnt give me a single additional MHz point. If I push the MHz up a little more, both screens go White, checkered, or slashed.

The highest temp I have received with this card is 50c, and a 59c voltage regulator. The memory runs crazy cold, at around 43c

I have the most recent version of ATITool 25 beta 15 but the voltage settings didnt seem to ever change. I would set it in preferences or save it on the settings voltage sections, but it always seemed to revert back to default.