• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New AMD CPU I bought.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Jackal

Registered
I'm new to this stuff so bear with me. I purchased an AMD 1.4 GHz CPU Friday. I was told by the salesman it was a 200 FSB. I tried to install it on my ASUS A7V. I couldn't get the full 1.4 GHz from it. I think it's the board no supporting it. But upon further research, I found this. The top code on the chip is this :

A1400AMS3C

Now correct me if i am wrong, but this CPU is 266 FSB ( the C at the end ). No wonder it won't work on my A7V. LOL! Anyway, could someone refer me to a motherboard for this CPU that is the best quality for the dollar. I'm not returning it to the store. Got a better CPU for less money, hehe. Thanks.

Yes C at the end means 266 frontside bus so the processor should run fine at that level.

try to upgrade your bios and try again.

Sorry I meant 133 frontside bus. What motherboard do you have?

I had a problem with a computer i built and looked up at the Amd site and B means 100 and C is 133

I got sold a B version and didnt understand why I couldnt use the 133 Fsb. And an Abit kt7a needs the Bios updated because even with a 133 fsb it will lock up sometimes. I tried a 1 ghz C version and it kept locking up and i updated the bios and it works fine now.

i have an abit kt7a with duron 800. i tried a 133 FSB and it was unstable, so i tried a 124 FSB and it was also unstable. both times i lowered the multiplier so CPU heat was not the factor. do you think this is the bios issue? does it affect all boards? i am thinking of ordering an athlon 1133, but i am nervous to update my bios in case something goes wrong..

Branney what multiplier are you getting in Bios and does the Duron support 133 mhz frontside bus.