Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Crossfire - How many monitors?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-09-08, 07:21 PM Thread Starter   #1
Foxie3a
Normal Member

 
Foxie3a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Modesto, CA

 
Crossfire - How many monitors?


Simple question.. I have the Supermicro X7DWA-N motherboard that has two PCI-E 16x Gen2 slots, and it is compatible with ATI's Crossfire. I currently have two Radeons(listed in sig). Each is a different model, and they run independently of each other. The reason for having a second one is only because I need more than two monitors.

Here comes the question... Can I have lets say two 3870s, run them in CF-X, and still use all four outputs on the cards? I read the wiki on this, and it says you can use multiple outputs on CF-X, but it doesn't go into detail. If I ever do anything GPU intensive, it's a game, and only one monitor, so I don't need to share GPU power over multiple screens.

Thanks for the help!

__________________
Dual Xeon E5-2643 3.3Ghz/10M/8.0GTs
Supermicro X9DA7, 32GB ECC/REG
Radeon 7970 3GB (MSI Lightning version)
Triple 24" LCDs
Areca 1680 = 6x Agility 3, RAID5 (~700mb/s)
Storage: 14TB of WD-RE in Synology, plus SAS RAID1.
Corsair AX1200i, Digital PSU
Asus Xonar PCI-E <- Digital -> Denon Receiver -> Floor Standing Speakers
Foxie3a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-10-08, 12:49 PM   #2
deathman20
High Speed Senior

 
deathman20's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Where the Cheese Heads Live

10 Year Badge
 
Well CF works on 2 montiors that I know of for sure. Even in games from what I've seen in 1 game at least. I've never attempted to hook it up to a secondary monitor on the 2nd card to see if it would work in CF but I doubt it.

__________________
-=The Gamer=-
MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen
-=The Server=-
Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
Heat
deathman20 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-10-08, 01:49 PM   #3
jimmers
Member

 
jimmers's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB Canada

 
Crossfire only supports 2 monitors on the main card. Another monitor on the second card won't work with CF enabled.

__________________
MOBO - Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU - Intel Q6600 @ 3.4ghz with Thermalright 120 Extreme/Scythe S-Flex fan
RAM - 4gigs OCZ DDR2 Reaper 1066
Video Card - Sapphire 6870
Hard Drives - 3x Western Digital 1TB, OCZ Vertex II 120
Sound Card - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU - Corsair 850AX
Case - CM Stacker
jimmers is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?