• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Do all 802.11n routers really suck that much? Recommend me one that doesn't!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

LoneWolf121188

I've been looking for a solid 802.11n router for a while and I just can't seem to find one that is fast and doesn't drop signals! I'm tempted by the Buffalo WZR2-G300N, because I hear they make reliable products...same for the Asus RT-N15. The problem is that I can't seem to find any reviews of these models.

The other problem is that DD-WRT doesn't seem to support 802.11n as of yet. Most routers made by the bigger companies (Netgear, D-Link, etc) don't seem to be supported, and all of the Linksys ones that are compatible with DD-WRT seem to have tons of problems.

Any suggestions?

I've been using a Netgear WNR2000 for the past 5 months, and have had zero problems with it. I guess I'd recommend that, unless you're hell-bent on putting Tomato or DD-WRT on it. The WNR2000 is not supported by any 3rd party firmwares I've encountered.

ya was about to say the main issue is N is not official, so there is no set standard to go by yet, so companies kind of do what they think is best.

ya was about to say the main issue is N is not official, so there is no set standard to go by yet, so companies kind of do what they think is best.
But that shouldn't mean that all of their products have low throughput, crappy signal quality, and repeated signal drops (as all of the reviews I've read seem to indicate).

That Netgear one looks half decent though...no DD-WRT support, unfortunately, but it looks like DD-WRT doesn't work too well on any N router, so maybe I should just drop that requirement...

it could, since companies can choose to do what they want with it to cut corners, and it seems they all do the same :)