• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How to tell when bottleneck exist?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Benjamin Yeung

Registered
So first of all here's my setup,

E8400 @ 3.6Ghz 400MHz x 9 1.32v
EVGA 780i
2 x 2Gb Kingston HyperX DDR2 800 CL5
2 x Asus 9600GT 512 unclocked

I'm still a newbie in overclocking, in fact, the only reason I started overclocking was because the bottleneck issue I've had with my stock E8400 when playing games. Now at 3.6Ghz I've gained a noticeable FPS and performance, 3Dmark06 score 15969.

I'm wondering how could I tell at what speed I should run my CPU that's best match my 2 9600GTs performance? I know if I want to push my CPU further I most likely will have to overclock my ram as well. I'm also looking at upgrading to the new i7 but still I want to try get the most out of my current system :)

Sorry but I've got another question, if I do end up getting a new i7 system, is it worth running SLI? Say 2 x GTX285? Or is it better to just get a single GTX295?

Thank you in advance.

If you're just gaming I wouldn't suggest the i7. 2 cores is plenty for gaming. What exactly do you do other than game? If you do other things that could use the 4 cores, then i7 would be sweet.

I missed the while 9000 series generation, so I'm not to sure about this - but I think those cards could be bottle necking you pretty bad .. those are pretty old cards, right?

The GTX series should give you a good boost. Maybe a GTX260? there cheap as hell atm. Or if you can spend a little more, GTX275. You could grab another later on also for SLI, when they get cheaper (with the 300 series coming out). As for your CPU, 3.6 is plenty for gaming.

If you could get those timings to CL4 and a little faster I'm sure that would help you out a bit.

:welcome: TO THE FORUMS!!