• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Crucial RealSSD C300 64GB

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

infam0ussteven

Hey forum, I was wondering if the upcoming 64GB version of the C300 will be faster than the 60GB Vertex 2. I ask this because the C300 is a SATA III interface and I would be using this with SATA II. I just figure this will be a better buy than the Vertex 2 because on paper this drive is quicker (in terms of read speeds) than the vertex 2 and is cheaper but the question that still remains is if the Marvell controller is as reliable as the SandForce controller. I'm sorry if my question doesn't make any sense as I am still learning about the different controllers.

Link to the C300 64GB:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...357&cm_re=crucial_c300-_-20-148-357-_-Product

EDIT* Sorry guys, I should have correctly read the specs off newegg before I posted this. So my new question is which controller is more reliable, Marvell or SandForce?

Last edited:
Sandforce IMO

Getting a SATA 3 drive and running it on SATA 2 board doesnt make any sense unless you have an upgrade in mind for the near future....

With one drive SataII or SataIII shouldnt make much if any difference as a single SSD, even the OCZ Vertex2, doesnt saturate the bandwidth of SataII... ;)

With one drive SataII or SataIII shouldnt make much if any difference as a single SSD, even the OCZ Vertex2, doesnt saturate the bandwidth of SataII... ;)
Yes, they do. Saturating SATAII is normal nowadays.

Reliability-wise it is too early to tell.

They are over 300MB/sec with that drive? Interesting, I didnt know that. Why would they handicap their drive then and put it on a sataII interface?

Were you talking burst only Alpha?

Last edited: