• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Never got my rig to run as intended

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

BaasPiet

Hello there,

Recently I purchased 2GB extra RAM because I felt that my nearly 4.5 year old gaming desktop was running a little slow. I have not used it for gaming for quite a while now but now that I do, I have some things that are bugging me. I have been searching the internet for hours and hours but I cannot find a solution to my problem. These forums have been a great way to gain more knowledge so I decided to sign up and hopefully learn something at last ;)

I will post the complete desktop setup to show you exactly what I'm working with. I'm a complete newb still since I never got around to actually seeing positive change after messing with the BIOS settings.

Processor: E6850 3.00Ghz (9 * 333)
Motherboard: Gigabyte EP45-DS3
RAM: 2x1 GB GEIL PC2 8500 1066Mhz CL 5-5-5-15
freshly added RAM: 2x1 GB GEIL PC2 8500 1066Mhz CL 5-5-5-15 (GX22GB8500PDC)
Videocard: XFX 8800 GTS (640MB)
Power supply: GameXStream (600 Watt)

Ever since I got this set up I was interested in overclocking but I never had much success with it. I've read guides and tried to alter BIOS settings in general but I always ended up with not even getting past POST and having to reset CMOS. I didn't really have the knowledge to tamper with it further, nor did I want to risk frying any parts so I just used the standard (AUTO) settings ever since, but now that I have added more RAM it seems that my system runs even slower than before. I couldn't think of any other reason than BIOS settings not being what they should be.